Fingal crowned All-Ireland minor ‘C’ champs

November 8, 2018

Fingal crowned All-Ireland minor ‘C’ champs

09 Sep 2012 |


Niall O’Callaghan was the scorer-in-chief as Fingal claimed All-Ireland MHC ‘C’ honours at Ashbourne on Saturday afternoon.
The Dubs side were far superior to their Ulster rivals throughout and got off to an electric start which paved the way for their impressive victory.
Only five minutes into the clash a Phil Lennon point and goal from Colm Byrne put Fingal in the driving seat. Cavan rallied briefly but a string of unbroken points from Andrew Lonergan, Ciarán Sullivan, Karl Rogers, Lennon, Kevin McLoughney, O’Callaghan and Conor Dwyer had Fingal 1-12 to 0-4 to the good at the break.
FINGAL: Kevin Hammond, David Greville, Daniel Butterly, Conal Purcell, Cian Ryan (0-1), Mark Kavanagh, Conor Quinn, Ciarán O’Sullivan (0-2), Andrew Lonergan (0-3), Colm Byrne (1-0), Niall O’Callaghan (0-7), Karl Rodgers (0-1), Conor Dwyer (0-1), Kevin McLoughney (1-3), Phil Lennon (1-2). Sub: Ian Furlong (0-1).
CAVAN: Alex Hamilton, Oran O’Reilly, Niall Farrell, Gary Cronin, Bart Nannery (1-0), Sean McKeogh, Killian Galligan, John Carney, Stephen Harten (0-4), Neasan Neary, Aiden McFarlane (0-1), Finnan Reilly (1-1), Fiachra Hughes, Daniel Reilly, Ryan Smith (0-1).
REF: F Smith (Meath).