Gaels 0:16 Shrule-Glencorrib 2:08 : U16’s win South Mayo B Title….

November 8, 2018

Amid scenes of great jubilation the Mayo Gaels U16’s defeated Shrule-Glencorrib in an exciting South Mayo B final played in Hollymount on Tuesday the 27th of August.

Mayo Gaels were favourites coming into the game following their emphatic 2.18 to 2.05 win over a highly rated Ballinrobe team in the South semi-final. In what was a closely fought final the Gaels – who easily defeated Shrule-Glencorrib in the League last April – had to work extremely hard to reclaim the U16 cup (last held by the club in 2010).

Mayo Gaels, lining out without injured defender Jason Healy, started brightly and the impressive movement and interplay from the forwards (particularly Gerry Canavan) generated a fully deserved lead of 0.7 to 0.01 at the end of the first quarter. Unfortunately, as the half progressed, a tendency by the Gaels to ‘run’ possession and take the ball into the tackle resulted in several costly turnovers that yielded two lifesaving goals for Shrule-Glencorrib. Indeed if it wasn’t for vital interceptions by defenders Shane O’Donnell and Ross Burke the Shrule lads could have easily registered one or two extra scores.

The half time score line was Mayo Gaels 0.12 (this included a penalty that was ‘pointed’ by Gerry Canavan) , Shrule-Glencorrib 2.02 – however the Gaels players & supporters were disappointed to have a lead of only four points particularly after dominating large periods of the half.

The second half was an altogether tighter affair with the Gaels attack finding it difficult to make headway against a re-organised Shrule-Glencorrib defense. The Gaels also struggling at mid-field where, slowly but surely, a resurgent Shrule started to make inroads into the half-time deficit.

The Corribsiders outscored the Gaels by four points to one (a fine individual point from Gerry Canavan) by the end of the third quarter and a massive roar of delight emerged from the Shrule supporters when the leveling point was scored four minutes from time. It was at this stage however that the Gaels took control and a great score from play by Tommy Keane ( following good approach work by Callum Henry) and Gerry Canavan (free) were enough to secure the title.

The Gaels had notable performances from David Sloyne in goals, Shane O’Donnell, Ross Burke, Callum Henry, Tommy Keane and Gerry Canavan.

In front of a large crowd of Gaels supporters, Ger McHugh (representing the South Mayo Board) presented the U16 Cup to Captain Tommy Keane. Afterwards a large convoy of cars headed for Mayo Abbey where refreshments awaited at the Clubhouse.

Mayo Gaels : D. Sloyne, S. O’Donnell, R. Burke, R.McGurrin, L. Hughes, D. Hughes (0.01), C. Henry, T. Keane(Cptn.) (0.02), F. Regan (0.01), K. Kenna, G. Canavan (0.12, 0.8f, 0.1p), R. O’Donnell, D. Murphy; Subs J. Gallagher, C. Heneghan, L. Rushe.