Galway Juniors hold out

November 8, 2018

Connacht Junior Football Championship – Preliminary Round

Galway 0-10, Mayo 1-6

Four Kilmaine men started for Billy Fitzpatrick’s Mayo team in Tuam Stadium on Wednesday evening (28th April) where Galway deservedly won out. The match got off to a slow start with Mayo trailing 0-6 to 0-2 at half time. The 51st minute seen the sides at 0-9 to 0-4 in favour of Galway when Mayo launched another attack on the tribesmen. A goal and point from Paul Doherty along with a ‘45 from Fintan Ruddy put the sides level with just a few minutes left in the game. Galway held firm and substitute Máirtín Seoighe eventually scored the winning point.

 SCORERS – Galway: Eoin Phóil 0-5 (4f), John Paul Steede, Cathal Coleman (f), Colman Hands, Barry Donnellan and Máirtín Seoighe 0-1 each. Mayo: Paul Doherty 1-5 (0-4f), Fintan Ruddy 0-1 (‘45).

GALWAY: Padraig Lally (C); Eddie O’Sullivan, Paul Gleeson, Keith Kelly; Colman Hands, Andy Coen, Jamie Burke; Rory O’Neill, Ronan O’Flynn; Peadar Seoighe, Cathal Coleman, Michael Murphy; Eoin Phóil, John Paul Steede, Barry Donnellan. Subs: Tomás Seoighe (for Kelly – inj), Michael Aspell (for P Seoighe), Máirtín Seoighe (for Steede).

MAYO: Fintan Ruddy (Cill Chomáin); Ollie Feeney (Islandeady, Capt), Derek O’Dea (Kilmaine), Alan Noone (Cill Chomáin); Dermot Costello (Carramore), Colm Boyle (Davitts), David Prendergast (Tourmakeady); Frank Burke (Kilmaine), Tomás Morley (Kiltimagh); Damien Burke (Kilmaine), Dermot O’Connor (Westport), Paul Doherty (Kilmaine); James Rafter (Bonniconlon), Keith Glynn (Davitts), Michael Conroy (Davitts). Subs: James McAndrew (Cill Chomáin) for Glynn – inj, Donal Gallagher (Achill) for O’Connor, Liam Lydon for Rafter, Colm English (Achill) for Prendergast.

REFEREE: Ollie Kelly (Roscommon)