Garrymore 1:14 Mayo Gaels 0.16 : Gaels lose narrowly in third round of O’Mara Cup….

November 8, 2018

Mayo Gaels were unfortunate to lose by one point to Garrymore in the third round of the O’Mara Cup played in Garrymore on Sunday the 20th of April.

In a perfect, sunny, day for football both Mayo Gaels and Garrymore served up a great contest of high quality football. Mayo Gaels controlled possession for long periods of the game however, despite running up an impressive final tally of sixteen points, the Gaels will feel that their forward play – particularly in the first half – should have yielded a higher scoring return.

Garrymore struggled in the first half to deal with the dominance of Sean Boyle and Paul Walsh in midfield and the direct running and interplay of the Gaels forwards. Mayo Gaels scored seven excellent points from play and also hit the post twice to lead at the interval by 0.11 to 0.06.

The second half was a tightly contested affair and with Garrymore gradually getting to grips at midfield the margin between the teams was reduced to three points by the end of the third quarter (Mayo Gaels 0.13 to Garrymore’s 0.10).

A feature of play in the second half was Garrymore’s ability to capitalise on Mayo Gael’s mistakes and it was three unfortunate turnovers by the Gaels lads that saw the home side scoring a goal and two points in the final ten minutes of the game. A tiring Mayo Gaels fought to the final whistle however despite strong pressure in the final minutes the Garrymore men held on to secure the O’Mara Cup points.

Mayo Gaels played some excellent football on the day and had strong performances from Sean Boyle, Paul Walsh, Kevin Jordan, Malley Byrne, Fintan Canavan, Alan Morris and Adam Gallagher.

The Senior’s will play Lahardane in a challenge in Abbey Park next Sunday the 27th of April at 12.30.

Mayo Gaels: P. Mannion, T. Byrne, A. Brett, K. Jordan, K. Lynch, F. Canavan (0.01), L. Duggan, S. Boyle, P. Walsh, A. Morris (0.01), A. Gallagher (0.07, 3 f), N. Brett (0.02, 1 f), M. Byrne (0.03, 2f), J. Morrin, D. Burke (0.02); Subs : G. Canavan, N. McGurrin.