Hurlers impressive in rout of Drumcullen

November 8, 2018

Edenderry hurlers got their championship campaign off to a great start with a comprehensive nine point beating of Drumcullen. The opening twenty minutes was a great battle with both sides scoring some fantastic points but Edenderry pulled away in the latter stages to give them a four point lead at half time.

Eoghan Kelly pointed after three minutes to give Edenderry the lead but Drumcullen hit back straight away with two points of their own. A Darragh Hickey point in the seventh minute leveled the sides again but Drumcullen scored from the puck out to take the lead.

Martin Keogh leveled the tie at three a piece within a minute but three minutes later Drumcullen took the lead again. This would be the last time they did and points from Martin Keogh(2), Shane Kelly, Jason Carey and Eoghan Kelly gave the reds a four point lead.

Drumcullen got two back from two ’65’s but late points from James Coffey and Eoghan Kelly in the twenty ninth minute gave Edenderry a four point lead at the interval.

Half Time:
Edenderry 0-10 0-6 Drumcullen

The opening ten minutes of the second half saw Drumcullen dominate proceedings but a Paul Glennon point in the fifth minute made sure Edenderry maintained a two point lead. Drumcullen scored three points in the opening ten minutes, 2 from free’s.

Edenderry were under heavy pressure but in the thirteenth minute the game was sealed when Eoghan Kelly rose highest on the edge of the square and shot the ball to the back of the net. Edenderry kicked on from here and point from Martin Keogh and Shane Kelly extended Edenderry’s lead to seven.

Drumcullen pointed another free in the eighteenth minute but three points in the closing three minutes from Martin Keogh, Eoghan Kelly and David ‘Rodge’ Hanlon ensured a nine point victory for the North Offaly men.

The game was well refereed by Ciaran Groome.

Team sheet:
Derek Egan, Johnathan Geraghty, Tom Fay, Pauric Mangan, Stephen Murphy, Conleth Carey, David Hanlon(0-1), Sean Og Farrell, Paul Glennon(0-1), Jason Carey(0-1), Martin Keogh(0-5), James Coffey(0-1), Shane Kelly(0-2), Eoghan Kelly(1-4), Darragh Hickey(0-1)

Subs: Ger Hanlon for Darragh Hickey, Ger Noonan for James Coffey