IFC: Clonmore 1-10 St Mullins 0-5

November 8, 2018

31 July 2009 – Intermediate Football Championship Round 3 

Clonmore get Championship back on track

Clonmore       1-10          St Mullins   0-5 

Both teams deserve great credit for serving up a very competitive encounter in spite of the atrocious weather conditions at Fenagh on Friday evening. Driving wind and rain made ball handling difficult but Clonmore adapted better to the conditions and ran out convincing winners in the end, although St Mullins stayed in touch up to the 57th minute when a Pauric Lawlor goal ended the game as a contest.


Clonmore had first use of the wind and raced into a four point lead with lively young forwards Gavin Byrne and Con Murphy scoring two apiece, before John Kennedy got St Mullins off the mark with a free on 15 minutes. Paul Kehoe pointed another free for St Mullins from a difficult angle and Clonmore were lucky to survive a couple of goalmouth scrambles without conceding a goal. The Gavin Byrne finished the half with two frees to leave Clonmore leading 0-6 to 0-2 at half-time.


With the assistance of the elements St Mullins set about reducing Clonmore’s lead and within five minutes scored two fine points from Michael Kehoe and a great 45 from the accurate Paul Kehoe – 0-6 to 0-4 on 35 minutes. With a gale force wind in their backs and only two points behind, St Mullins were looking good. But Clonmore dug deep and with Bobby Rooney again anchoring a solid defensive unit, points from the ever reliable Gavin Byrne (2 frees), David Mulvany and Jamie Doyle put them 0-10 to 0-4 ahead on 44 minutes.


St Mullins never gave up but they needed a goal to bring them back into it and they nearly got one on 46 minutes when Declan Murphy brought a great save from Paudge McGrath, his scorching shot deflected over the bar by the experienced net-minder. Clonmore were now in control of the game and they finshed it off in the 57th minute when a slick move involving David Mulvany, Paul Byrne and Con Murphy put Pauric Lawlor clean through and the stylish midfielder make no mistake with a strong shot to the roof of Cian Doyle’s net. Final score 1-10 to 0-5.

Clonmore: Paudge McGrath, Colin Doyle, John Kelly, John Connolly, Paddy Gahan, Bobby Rooney, Shane Murphy, Pauric Lawlor (1-0), Ronan Doyle, Enda McGrath, John McGrath, Con Murphy (0-2), Jamie Doyle (0-1), David Mulvany (0-1), Gavin Byrne (0-6, 5f). Con Cashin, Paul Byrne, Niall Humphries, Pierce McCarthy.

St Mullins: Cian Doyle, John Murphy, Thomas Cody, Kevin Kehoe, Paudie Kehoe, Thomas Doyle, Paul Kehoe (0-2, 1f, 1 45), Declan Murphy, (0-1), John Murphy, Seamus Murphy, Paul Murphy, Chris Kavanagh, Mark Ryan, John Kennedy (0-1, f), Michael Kehoe (0-1). Sub: Sean Murphy.

Referee: John Dunphy (Eire Og)