IFC: Clonmore 1-15 Leighlinbridge 1-6.

November 8, 2018

Clonmore           1-15   

Leighlinbridge           1-6

Beaten finalists for the last two years, Clonmore opened their Intermediate Championship campaign with a convincing win over Leighlinbridge in Ballon on Sunday, scoring an impressive 0-14 from play in the process.

Clonmore got off to the perfect start when, on two minutes, Con Murphy blasted a penalty to the roof of Brendan Flynn’s net after a foot-block on Jamie Doyle in the square. Playing some lovely combination football, Clonmore piled on the points with Pauric Lawlor bursting through from midfield for two, Con Murphy cleverly punching one and Jamie Doyle & Gavin Byrne (free) adding to the tally.  In spite of an exhibition of fielding from big midfielder, Damien Clarke, Leighlinbridge could not turn possession into scores against the tight marking Clonmore backs in which centre back, Bobby Rooney, was a dominant figure and even managed to score a fine point himself.   Three pointed frees from Des Shaw and an inspirational point from Hughie Kelly on the stroke of half-time gave the All Blacks hope for the second half – HT score: 1-7 to 0-4.

In the second half, Clonmore started to break the ball at midfield which reduced the Leighlin supply to their forwards. A flurry of four Clonmore points in four minutes after half-time ended the game as a contest. Wing back Paddy Gahan raced forward to score a cracker from 40 metes, followed by Jamie Doyle, David Mulvany and Paul Byrne to make it 1-11 to 0-4 on 40 minutes.

With the game slipping away, Leighlin went in search of goals and were somewhat unlucky, hitting a post and bringing a good save from Paudge McGrath, before finally substitute Brian Kavanagh finished the ball to the net in the 58th minute. By then, Con Murphy (2)

, Gahan and Gavin Byrne had slotted over some well worked points to leave Clonmore deserved winners on a scoreline of 1-15 to 1-6.

Clonmore: Paudge McGrath; Wesley Byrne, John Kelly, John Connolly; Paddy Gahan (0-2), Bobby Rooney (0-1), Shane Murphy; Pauric Lawlor (0-3), David Mulvaney (0-1); Con Murphy (1-3, goal from pen), Ronan Doyle, Paul Byrne (0-1); Jamie Doyle (0-2), John McGrath, Gavin Byrne (0-2,1f). Subs: Niall Humphries for John McGrath 38mins, Con Cashin for Lawlor 49mins, James Doyle for Jamie Doyle 53mins.

Leighlinbridge: Brendan Flynn; Paul Dermody, Adrian Dermody, Eoin Ryan; Richard Kearney, Emmet Moore, Eddie Dermody; Damien Clark, James Kane; Adrian McNally, Dessie Shaw (0-5fs), Hugh Kelly (0-1); Conor Nolan, Johnny Kavanagh, Dinny Byrne. Subs: Eddie Kane for Kearney H/T, Brian Kavanagh (1-0) for Nolan 33mins, John Townsend for P.Dermody 35mins, Eanna Ryan for J.Kane 41mins, Conor Nolan for B.Kavanagh 58mins.

Referee: Olly Hynes