IFC: Kildavin/Clonegal 3-9 Clonmore 1-7.

November 8, 2018

Once again, our best efforts came up short in a game where there was very little between the teams.

The lads played plenty of fast skillful football and put together some lovely moves but a few moments of indiscipline and frailties at the back were ruthlessly exploited by Kildavin/Clonegal. 

After falling 0-5 to 0-2 early on, Clonmore battled back to take a one point lead on 25 minutes – 1-3 to 0-5 – the goal a cracking penalty by Niall Humphries after Sean T was fouled when about to score a goal.

Unfortunately, in first half injury time a moment of indiscipline led to K/C having a free in midfield brought forward. We then failed to defend the resulting high ball into the square and K/C goaled to put them 1-6 to 1-3 ahead at half-time. Worse was to follow when immediately after the re-start we conceded another goal to trail by 2-6 to 1-3. Again, the lads showed their fighting spirit by battling back to within striking distance of K/C with points from the on-fire Niall Humphries and two Gavin Byrne frees – 2-7 to 1-6 on 45mins. Then a third breakaway goal by K/C finished the game as a contest. We continued to chase the game, but had to go for goals and although the excellent Jamie Walsh went close, K/C were able to sit back and hit us on the break. 

We now face a play-off with Ballon to retain our Intermediate status, probably on the weekend of 15 September. But if we continue to play with the same spirit and committment, there is no reason why we cannot win this game.

Team: Francie Whelan, John Kelly, Willie Byrne, Matt Cullen, Rory McKernan, Shane Murphy, Larry Doyle, Enda McGrath, Anthony Byrne, Paddy Gahan, Con Murphy, Sean Tompkins (0-1), Niall Humphries (1-3, pen), Gavin Byrne (03,3f), Jamie Walsh. Subs:  Jason Byrne for Willie, David McCarney for Larry, Sean Deay for Sean T. 


Back (left to right): Daniel Quigley, Willie Byrne, Con Murphy, Owen Coleman, Paddy Gahan, Jamie Walsh, Andrew Byrne, Gavin Byrne, Francie Whelan, Sean Deay, Niall Humphries, Larry Doyle, Alan Humphries.

Front: Shane McGrath, Willie Rooney, Matt Cullen, Anthony Byrne, Jason Fitzharris, John Kelly, Shane Murphy, Tom Pollard, Jason Byrne, Enda McGrath (Captain), Rory McKernan, Jordan Kane.