Intermediate team beaten in O'Mara Cup. Claremorris 2-12 Mayo Gaels 0-3

November 8, 2018

A beautiful spring morning in Claremorris was the setting for the second round of the O’Mara Cup on Sunday morning. Unfortunately our intermediate team could not follow up on their good start to the competition last week as they suffered a comprehensive defeat to the locals. A slick Claremorris side picked off scores at will and the result was never in doubt from a long way out. A sign of things to come was delivered in the opening minutes when the Claremorris forward line cut through the Gaels defence and rattled the back of the Gaels net. They continued their dominance for the next twenty minutes and landed six points from play to leave them 1-6 to no score clear. The Gaels finally opened their account after twenty minutes with a Danny Burke free after he was fouled. The same player followed up a minute later with a fine point from play. Claremorris cancelled out these two scores in the final minutes of the half to leave them 1-8 to 0-2 clear at the break.
To their credit the Gaels side made the second half a much tighter affair and limited the Claremorris chances. They started the half brightly with a good point from play from Mallie Byrne. This was to be their final score of the game. Their persistence in carrying the ball was frustrating and they could learn a lesson from a Claremorris side that moved the ball first time into the danger zone. As the second half faded out as a contest Claremorris added four further points to their first half tally and with the final attack of the game Ryan Quirke blasted a fine goal to the net. Interestingly Ryan’s father Christy lined out for the Gaels with distinction for many years. The Gaels must pick up the pieces before the third round of the O’Mara Cup away to The Neale at 12pm next Sunday in Cong where a win for either side will see them qualify for the semi finals.

Mayo Gaels team: Allyn Brett, Stuart McLoughlin, Anthony Byrne, Kevin Brett, Kevin Jordan, Martin Connor, Fintan Canavan, Adrian Heneghan, Paul Walsh, Mallie Byrne (0-1), Shane Vahey, Niall Brett, Jonathan Griffin, Shane Lyons, Danny Burke (02, 1f). Subs. John Sloyan for Kevin Brett, Liam Duggan for Kevin Jordan, Brian Heneghan for Stuart McLoughlin, Paul Mannion for Shane Vahey, Kevin Burke for Shane Lyons.