Intermediate team begin championship with a draw. Mayo Gaels 0-14 Kilmeena 0-14

November 8, 2018

Mayo Gaels 0-14 Kilmeena 0-14


Our intermediate team got their championship campaign underway on Sunday and played out an entertaining draw with Kilmeena. On a glorious in Abbey Park a good crowd was treated to a superb game of free flowing football.


The Gaels started brightly and raced into a three point lead with scores from a Jonathan Griffin free and two points from play from the on fire Danny Burke. Kilmeena responded with two scores from play before the Gaels responded well with another Jonathan Griffin free and a Damien Quinn from play. Again Kilmeena hit back with two points, one from a free and one from play. The game continued to ebb and flow with the Gaels getting further points from a Damien Quinn free and a superb individual effort from Mally Byrne. Kilmeena finished the half strongly with two points splitting another Jonathan Griffin free to leave the halftime score 0-8 to 0-6 in favour of the home side.


The Gaels flew out of the blocks at the start of the second half with four scores to a solitarily point for Kilmenna. A Jonathan Griffin free and three points from play from Danny Burke left the Gaels five points clear 0-12 to 0-7. A few basic mistakes allowed Kilmeena back into the game and they took full advantage to hit the next five scores to leave the sides leave entering the last ten minutes. Another Danny Burke point from play pushed the Gaels ahead again. Kilmeena responded to level and looked to have won the game with an injury time fifty. But the Gaels refused to lie down and worked the ball up field where Cathal Vahey won a free fourteen yards out which was pointed by Jonathan Griffin to leave the final score 0-14 each. Well done to the club officials and volunteers who had Abbey Park looking superb and made sure everything ran like clockwork.


Mayo Gaels team: Paul Mannion, Anthony Byrne, Adrian Heneghan, Keith Walsh, Alyan Brett, Jason Hurst, Noel Quinn, Sean Boyle, Barry Commins, Mally Byrne (0-1), James Fallon, Jonathan Griffin (0-5, 5f), Damien Quinn(0-2, 1f), Danny Burke (0-6), Cathal Vahey. Subs. Jonathan Morrin for Damien Quinn (inj), Joe Walsh for Sean Boyle, Dermot Browne for Jason Hurst (inj), Neil McGurrin for Cathal Vahey (inj).