Intermediate team continue winning ways in league. Mayo Gaels 0-12 Ballyhaunis 1-7

November 8, 2018

Mayo Gaels 0-12 Ballyhaunis 1-7

A storming finish in which they hit four points in eight minutes ensured the intermediate team deservedly picked up two more priceless league points in a rain soaked Ballyhaunis on Saturday evening.

It was nip and tuck for the first quarter with the sides exchanging the first six scores, five of which were from frees, to leave the scores level at 0-3 each. The Gaels scores came from two very well hit Jonathan Griffin frees and a wonderful free from Damien Quinn way out on the right. The Gaels pushed into a two point lead with scores from play from Jonathan Morrin and Danny Burke. Ballyhaunis then benefited from a lack of umpires and dubious referring decision when the referee adjudged that the ball had crossed the line despite being thirty yards away. The Gaels responded to the setback to kick the last point of the half through a Damien Quinn free to leave the halftime scores level 0-6 to 1-3.

The Gaels started the second half brightly with another Jonathan Griffin dead ball. Ballyhaunis capitalised on loose marking in the Gaels defense with two points from play to leave them a point to the good. Damien Quinn leveled the game again with a free. Ballyhaunis then had their best spell of the game and pushed two points clear with three minutes of normal time remaining leaving the score 1-7 to 0-8. But the Gaels refused to line down and some inspirational play from Jason Hurst, Sean Boyle and a few vital catches from James Fallon lead to another Jonathan Griffin free and a fine Danny Burke point from play.

A draw looked on the cards but during the five minutes of injury time the Gaels grabbed the win when Damien Quinn used all his experience to land another excellent pressure free from Damien Quinn and a fine point from play from the relocated Cathal Vahey. The old heads then used all their experience to close out the game and deservedly take both points.

Mayo Gaels team:

Paul Mannion, Allyn Brett, Adrian Heneghan, Cathal Vahey (0-1), Noel Quinn, Jason Hurst, Barry Commons, Sean Boyle, Vinnie Moran, Damien Quinn (0-4, 4f), James Fallon, Johnathan Griffin(0-4, 4f), Neil McGurrin, Danny Burke (0-2), Johnathan Morrin (0-1). Subs: Keith Walsh for Neil McGurrin, Mark Nally for Vinny Moran.