Intermediate team lose final secondary league game. Mayo Gaels 2-5 Crossmolina B 2-9

November 8, 2018

Mayo Gaels 2-5 Moy Davitts 2-9
Without many regulars out due to a number of reasons the Gaels put in a surprisingly good performance on Sunday at home to Crossmolina B.
Crossmolina got the ball rolling in the opening minutes with a point from play. Hard work from Joe Gilroy saw him win a free for the Gaels which Danny Burke slotted over comfortably. The Gaels defence worked hard in the following minutes and a good run of play right the way up the field saw Danny Burke offload to Neil McGurrin who put the Gaels three points clear with a goal on the 7th minute. Crossmolina soon began to take a hold on proceedings bagging 1-3 in the space of less then five minutes. The Gaels soon crawled back with a Danny Burke free and a Bryan Adams point from play reducing the deficit. The Gaels were lucky on many occasions not to have conceded a goal, but work from ‘keeper Paul Mannion and the Gaels defence prevented such happening. Crossmolina added one more point to their tally on the 21st minute, before Damien Quinn set Johnny Griffin up for a goal on the 28th minute. The Gaels were unlucky in the dying minutes of the half for a third goal, but play was intercepted before the half time whistle was blown to leave a halftime score line of Mayo Gaels 2-3 Crossmolina B 1-5.
The second half was a lacklustre affair on both fronts. Despite holding the majority of possession, simple mistakes saw the Gaels fail to make it count. Crossmolina knocked up 1-3 in the opening ten minutes which the Gaels failing to respond, until Danny Burke pointed from play followed by a Neil McGurrin point. Crossmolina got a final score in before the stroke of full time to leave a score line of Mayo Gaels 2-5 Crossmolina B 2-9.
Mayo Gaels Team: Paul Mannion, Martin Connor, Adrian Heneghan, Paul Walsh, Kevin Brett, Allyn Brett, Noel Morris, Sean Boyle, Bryan Adams (0-1), Damien Quinn, Johnny Griffin (1-0), Joe Gilroy, Kevin Burke, Danny Burke (0-3, 2 frees), Neil McGurrin (1-1). Substitutions: Eddie Hurst for Joe Gilroy (inj.), Ollie Browne for Paul Walsh, Paul McGing for Johnny Griffin (inj.).