Intermediate team lose out at home. Mayo Gaels 1-8 Killala 2-13

November 8, 2018

Mayo Gaels 1-8 Killala 2-13

Our intermediate team lost to Killala in this, the second last round of the 2010 Division 1D league on Saturday evening in Abbey Park.

It was a game the Gaels never looked like winning from the start. Killala started well with two unanswered points from play before Danny Burke was unlucky to see his effort come back off the post. Killala were well on top in this early period causing Paul Mannion to pull off a great save from a 45. They converted two more points from play before Danny opened the Gaels’ account with a point. Then the Gaels had a chance to get back in the game when they were awarded a penalty. Unfortunately Jonathan Griffin placed it too close to the keepers left and it was parried away. Niall Brett recovered the ball and sent it over the bar for their 2nd point. After a number of missed chances and missed free-kicks, the Gaels were given a body blow when Killala broke through to score a goal in the 24th minute. In the last few minutes of the first half, three points from Killala were answered by just one point from Damian Quinn to leave the scores at 0-3 to 1-7 in favor of the visitors.

Although Killala scored a point early on, the Gaels started the second half with a bit more intention. Damian Quinn converted from a free kick before a Cathal Vahey free kick was fielded by Danny Burke, who passed into the path of John Sloyan who coolly slid it to the back of the Killala net. Killala, however stepped it up again and scored three points with just a solitary reply from Neill McGurrin. The Gaels missed a few more easy scoring chances and then another killer punch in the form of a goal put Killala in the driving seat. Jonathan Griffin replied with a point from a free kick but Killala pointed two more in reply. Niall Brett converted a 45 and Jonathan Griffin scored the last point of the day from a late free kick to leave the final score, Mayo Gaels 1-8 to Killala 2-13.

Mayo Gaels: Paul Mannion, Noel Quinn, Anthony Byrne, Martin Connor, Noel Morris, Niall Brett (0-2, 1 45), John Sloyan (1-0), James Fallon, Sean Boyle, Neil McGurrin (0-1), Jonathan Griffin (0-2, 2f), Cathal Vahey, Damian Quinn (0-2, 1f), Danny Burke(0-1), Dermot Browne.