Intermediate team lose out to Belmullet. Mayo Gaels 0-8 Belmullet 2-9

November 8, 2018

Mayo Gaels 0-8 Belmullet 2-9

In a side still depleted with injuries the Gaels were without a number of their regulars as they entertained Belmullet at home on a mild Saturday evening.
Belmullet were the first to get proceedings under way notching up a point from play in the opening 30 seconds followed by another pointed effort on the 3rd minute. Sean Boyle soon took it upon himself to get the Gaels on song and pointed on the 7th minute to start the Gaels tally. Belmullet soon responded and notched up a further 1-1 in the space of two minutes before Sean Boyle pointed again for the Gaels on the 11th minute. Belmullet pointed with a free before Niall Brett pointed with an outstanding free for the Gaels from some distance out. A controversial refereeing decision resulted in Belmullet notching up a second goal much to the annoyance of the home team and support. A further point from James Fallon saw the teams head for the dressing rooms on a half time score line of Mayo Gaels 0-4 Belmullet 2-4.
Belmullet started the livelier once again with a point on the opening minute followed by Niall Brett free which he followed up with a great point from play. Belmullet pointed again before the introduction on Danny Burke saw him put his name on the score sheet with a free effort. Belmullet scored again with a free and a point from play after which Mally Byrne slotted over a point from play closely followed by a Belmullet point on the stroke of full time. Final score line Mayo Gaels 0-8 Belmullet 2-9. They are away to Swinford in the next round of the Intermediate Secondary League on Saturday at 5pm.
Mayo Gaels Team: Cathal Vahey, Allyn Brett, Anthony Byrne, Martin Connor, Noel Morris, Adrian Heneghan, Jonathan Sloyan, Sean Boyle (0-2), Niall Brett (0-3, 2f), Shane Vahey, Mally Byrne (0-1), Joe Gilroy, Dermot Browne, James Fallon (0-1), Neil McGurrin. Subs: Danny Burke (0-1f) for Dermot Browne, Stephen Gibbons for Neil McGurrin, Paul McGing for Allyn Brett.