Intermediate team lose out to Parke in Sean Flanagan Cup Final. Mayo Gaels 1-6 Parke 1-15

November 8, 2018

Mayo Gaels 1-6 Parke 1-15

On Saturday February 14th, Mayo Gaels took on Parke in the final of the Sean Flanagan Cup. In a game that saw the Gaels shine in the first half a spell of injuries saw them fall at the final furlong and allow Parke go on and capture the title.


Parke started the livelier with a point in the opening minute of the half. It wasn’t long before Niall Brett got the Gaels into form with a point on 3rd minute. Johnny Griffin got his tally underway with a free on the 4th minute followed by a point from play on the 7th. Good play between Johnny Griffin and Danny Burke saw Burke take a well taken score on the 8th minute to leave three between the sides. Parke soon responded with a free but it was the long range kick from Johnny Morrin that saw Sean Boyle ensure it was resting firmly in the back of the net to put the Gaels five in front. The loss of Keith Walsh and Johnny Griffin through injury saw the Gaels fold at a time when they were going strong. Parke added five points on the trot (2 frees) with the Gaels’ Danny Burke responding with a free to leave a half-time score line of Mayo Gaels 1-5 Parke 0-9.


From the opening of the second half Parke stole the show adding 1-5 to their tally with the Gaels’ Johnny Morrin providing the Gaels with their only pot of the half in the 21st minute leaving a full-time scoreline of Mayo Gaels 1-6 Parke 1-14.


Dermot Flanagan presented Parke with the cup following the game and made a fine speech commending the club on continuing the competition as well as in their preparation of the grounds and facilities for the spectators.

Mayo Gaels team: Paul Mannion, Paul Walsh, Anthony Byrne, Johnny Walsh, Allyn Brett, Adrian Heneghan, Keith Walsh, Niall Brett (0-1), Barry Commons, Sean Boyle (1-0) Johnny Griffin (0-2, 1f), Johnny Morrin (0-1), Dermot Browne, James Fallon, Danny Burke (0-2, 1f). Subs: Noel Quinn for Johnny Griffin (inj.), Jonathan Sloyan for Keith Walsh (inj.), Brian Moran fro Johnny Walsh, Johnny Griffin for Noel Quinn, Noel Quinn for Dermot Browne, M O’Gara for Barry Commons.