Intermediate team narrowly lose. Mayo Gaels 0-11 Hollymount 1-10

November 8, 2018

Mayo Gaels 0-11 Hollymount 1-10

Although Mayo Gaels lost this, their latest outing in the Intermediate League, they have started to show some signs of improvement over the last few weeks. Hollymount ran out winners on a score line of 0-11 to 1-10 in a well contested game that had a large crowd in attendance at a sun-kissed Abbey Park.

Hollymount got off to a good start with two points from play before Mally Byrne pointed a superb long-range point followed by one from Danny Burke from a free kick. The Gaels found it hard to deal with the Hollymount forward line for the next 10 or 15 minutes and conceded three points in a row. However, they then found some form, sparked off by a delicious point from the hard working Anthony Byrne in midfield. Neill McGurrin followed up with a point before Hollymount pulled one back.

The Gaels then had a good purple patch, in which they scored three points from play. All three were scored by Danny Burke but he was ably assisted by the players around him. Before the break, Hollymount scored two points from frees. Then Danny Burke pulled one back with a free kick, leaving the half-time score, Mayo Gaels 0-08 Hollymount 0-08.

The second half was a tough, close encounter, with all but two of the six scores coming from free kicks. Danny Burke started the Gaels off with a point from a free kick before disaster struck. Hollymount won possession in their own back line and worked the ball all the way up the field to score a well taken goal. They then followed this up with a free kick to leave themselves three points clear. Scores were hard to come by for the rest of the half. Danny Burke (free kick) and Neil McGurrin put over the last two for the Gaels before Hollymount finished the scoring with a point from a free kick to leave the final score Mayo Gaels 0-11 Hollymount 1-10. All-in-all a good, well contested game, with that goal after half time making the difference.

Mayo Gaels team: Paul Mannion, Noel Quinn, Adrian Heneghan, Noel Morris, Allyn Brett, Bryan Adams, Shane Vahey, Anthony Byrne (0-1), Jonathan Morrin, Jonathan Griffin, Mally Byrne (0-1), Kevin Brett, Damian Quinn, Danny Burke (0-7, 4f), Neill McGurrin (0-2). Subs: Joe Gilroy for Damian Quinn, Stephen Gibbons.