Intermediate team return to winning ways. Mayo Gaels 1-15 Moygownagh 0-6

November 8, 2018

Our intermediate team returned to winning ways at Abbey Park on Saturday evening when they recorded a comprehensive win over Moygownagh in round three of the league. The sides shared the first four scores in the opening five minutes with the Gaels scores coming from Johnny Morrin and Danny Burke after good work by Jonathan Griffin. The Gaels dominated the remainder of the half hitting 1-4 with only a solitary point in reply from Moygownagh. Jonathan Griffin, Kevin Lynch and Mallie Byrne landed fine points from play after good work by Neil McGurrin and James Fallon. The key score of the game came after twenty six minutes when Mallie Byrne crossed soccer style to Danny Burke who blasted to the net from close range. Persistent fouling by the Moygownagh fullback line was punished by frees from Mallie Byrne and Danny Burke to leave the home side seven clear at the break 1-7 to 0-3.

Moygownagh started the second half brightly and landed two free inside the opening five minutes to reduce the Gaels lead to five. The Gaels dominated the remainder of the game that was a lacklustre, error ridden affair. Raiding corner backs Noel Morris and Alyn Brett kicked points from play. Johnny Morrin landed his second point from play after forty four minutes to give the Gaels a 1-10 to 0-5 lead. Moygownagh continued their tactic of fouling the Gaels inside forwards and were again punished with frees by Mallie Byrne and Danny Burke. As the game petered out to its inevitable conclusion Neil McGurrin and Johnny Morrin finished off the scoring in the final minutes to leave the Gaels easy winners 1-15 to 0-6. They face a busy schedule in May with four league games starting with Ballina B away next Sunday.

Mayo Gaels team: Paul Mannion, Alyn Brett (0-1), Anthony Byrne, Noel Morrin (0-1), Kevin Lynch (0-1), Adrian Heneghan, John Sloyan, James Fallon, Sean Boyle, Shane Vahey, Johnny Morrin (0-3), Neil McGurrin (0-1), Jonathan Griffin (0-1), Mallie Byrne (0-4, 3f), Danny Burke (1-3, 2f). Subs. Paul McGing for Shane Vahey, Eddie Hurst for Neil McGurrin, Paul Walsh for James Fallon, Keith Walsh for Danny Burke.