Intermediate team well beaten in league. Mayo Gaels 0-11 Charlestown B 1-16

November 8, 2018

Mayo Gaels 0-11 Charlestown B 1-16


The intermediate team suffered a disappointing defeat to Charlestown B in the sixth round of their league campaign.


The opening minute saw the Gaels fumble possession in the middle of the field, and Charlestown tear through the heart of the Gaels defence and deliver a goal to shake the Gaels up. Charlestown kept on form adding a point moments after. It was five minutes before the Gaels got on target with a point courtesy of Mally Byrne. Charlestown struck a positive chord landing four points one after the other (2 frees) before Danny Burke narrowed the gap for the Gaels with three frees inside four minutes. Charlestown responded with a free, after which Damien Quinn and Neil McGurrin pointed for the Gaels. The sides exchanged points towards the latter of the half with Charlestown nailing 2 points (1 free) and Niall Brett pointing for the Gaels. The Gaels were lucky in the final minutes of the half with Paul Mannion pulling off a remarkable save for a questionable penalty in the dying minutes. Half-time score line Mayo Gaels 0-7 Charlestown B 1-8.


The second half was a disappointing one for the Gaels. Charlestown started the livelier with 2 points in the opening 2 minutes. Neil McGurrin got the Gaels on the scoreboard with a point from play, but Charlestown went on scoring spree with 4 unanswered points (1 free) before Niall Brett hit over a 45′ for the Gaels. Charlestown pointed again after which Danny Burke and Mally Byrne attempted t narrow the gap with 2 points from play. Charlestown pointed once more to leave a full-time score line of Mayo Gaels 0-11 Charlestown B 1-16.


Mayo Gaels Team: Paul Mannion, Noel Morris, Anthony Byrne, Martin Conner, Adrian Heneghan, Johnny Morrin, Allyn Brett, Sean Boyle, James Fallon, Mally Byrne (0-2), Danny Burke (0-4, 3frees), Niall Brett (0-2, 1 45′), Damien Quinn (0-1), Johnny Griffin, Neil McGurrin (0-2). Substitutions: Cathal Vahey for Sean Boyle, Dermot Browne for James Fallon, Kevin Brett for Martin Connor, Bryan Adams for Allyn Brett, Shane Vahey for Noel Morris.