Ireland Clubs side falls short v England Counties

November 7, 2018

Young Munster are proud to have had five players involved in the England match, the largest representative contingent from any of the Irish clubs. Ger Slattery, Mike Kelliher and Liam Og Murphy were in the starting lineup with Hugh McGrath and Neville Melbourne replacements.
The result might not have gone our way on the night but we are proud of our players who were selected to pull on the green jersey with the honour of representing our country.
[Match details from] Ireland’s Club side came up short against a powerful England Counties performance at Preston Grasshoppers RFC on Friday March 16. Three first-half tries for the hosts did most of the damage, although the Irish out-half Craig Ronaldson kept us in touch at 22-9 down with three penalties.
Wing Cathal Quinn dotted down for Ireland early in the second half with Ronaldson adding the extras, but it was quickly cancelled out by the Counties’ fourth try which kept the Irish revival at bay. The hosts added a late try to put a gloss on the 34-16 scoreline.

IRELAND CLUB XV: R McBurney (Ballymena); C Aherne (Lansdowne), K Lett (Clontarf), M Kelliher (Young Munster), C Quinn (Cork Con); C Ronaldson (Lansdowne), G Hurley (Cork Con, capt); B Barclay (Clontarf), G Slattery (Young Munster), C Condon (Dolphin), P Donnellan (Cork Con), F Walsh (Shannon), L Og Murphy (Young Munster), B O’Mahony (Clontarf), F Cogan (Clontarf).

Replacements: H McGrath (Young Munster), R Byrne (UCD), D Hall (St. Mary’s), N Melbourne (Young Munster), B Slater (UCC), B Keeshan (Dolphin), J Thompson (Ballynahinch).

[Accompanying photos © Mick Craig]
Membership of Young Munster RFC

Members who have not already paid their annual membership fee are reminded that the annual membership must be paid before March 31st. Members must be fully paid in order to be eligible to vote, or to be nominated for a position on the club committee.
Please send any outstanding fees to John Mc Loughlin, Assistant Treasurer, 20 Cherry Avenue, Caherdavin Lawn, Limerick. Membership is €80. New members always welcome.
Please note:-
Notice of Special Meeting re: Club Development
A special meeting will be held in the Club on Thursday 22nd March at 8pm. The purpose of this meeting is to outline and discuss plans for improvement of club facilities. All members and supporters are invited to attend.