Irish Hockey League

November 8, 2018

It was Greenfields who got the game off to a start. A run by Elaine Hall created a chance for Mary Healy whose shot forced a clearance by the Institute keeper Maria Kelly.
The clear from Kelly resulted in a short corner for the Greens. A solid shot from Neasa McGettigan set Mary Healy up nicely for a deflection, which found the backboard in the 2nd minute of play. This set the pace for the first quarter. The second quarter continued with end to end hockey with both teams hotly contesting possession.
Institute started the third quarter stronger, with their forwards putting pressure on the Greenfields defence. Runs by Irish International Naomi Carroll kept keeper Sinead Collins on her toes. Collins was forced to make a defensive decision which left the back post open for Katie Campbell, who took her scoring opportunity.
However, Greenfields fought back with a great ball from Ellie Noone in midfield who found Sinead Minihan in the circle. Her shot hit the stick of the keeper and went wide.
Catholic institute were awarded with a stroke but after consultation with umpire Tara Browne the decision was changed to a short corner. Greenfields defended the short corner well with great pressure from first runner Elaine hall. Pressure from Naomi Carroll put keeper Sinead Collins to work resulting in an excellent save, however within second's, Carroll regained possession and this time she wouldn't be denied her goal.

In the final quarter it was Carroll again who found the backboard with a deflection. The game finishing up at 3-1 to Catholic Institute.
TD Ivy Dennis complimented Greenfields on a great pitch side atmosphere.

Pictured below are the entire IHL squad for 2014:

Back row L-R-Imelda Brennan (Manager), Deirdre McDermott (Coach), Sinead Collins, Kelly Dunleavy, Clodagh Kennedy, Siobhan Divilly, Kate Hennessy, Pamela McCann, Neasa McGettigan, Trish Garrett, Sarah McDonald (V.Capt), Derek O’Loughlin (Assistant Coach).

Front Row L-R. Liz Tighe, Alice Meagher, Catherine Moore, Alma Whelan (Capt.), Mary McDonald, Anna Boyce, Ellie Noone, Rebecca Gilligan, Laoise Fegan, Clodagh Grealy.

Missing from photo- Elaine Hall, Mary Healy, Aine Collins, Becky Anderson, Carmel Heery, Sinead Minihan.