Junior A's Back To Winning Ways

November 7, 2018

Our Junior A’s recorded a valuable win in Páirc na hAoraí today when they overcame Diarmuid Ó Mathunas 0-12 to 0-08.

Urhan carved out a hard-fought win in Eyeries today in their Beara-Carbery League tie with Diarmuid Ó Mathuna’s.

Against the wind it was Urhan who started the better with early points from play from Dec Healy, Vinny Lehane and Concubhar Harrington creating a 0-03 to 0-00 lead with a quarter gone. The game swung after that with Mathuna’s winning more ball and using it wisely. With Urhan’s backs in resolute form, however, scores were hard to come by. Nonetheless, Mathunas picked off five points between then and the break, and, with Urhan struggling to make headway at the other end, it was the visitors who led at the interval on a scoreline of 0-05 to 0-03.

Urhan would have to dig deep in the second half and their job was made harder as Mathunas notched another point on the restart to go a goal clear. A Concubhar Harrington free was canceled out and with twenty to go it was 0-04 to 0-07.

From there, Urhan engineered a stirring comeback, gaining dominance in the possession stakes and winning a succession of kick-outs to provide a platform for the forwards to kick into life. A brace of points from Vinny Lehane brought Urhan within a point before Ciarán O’ Sullivan kicked two superb points to first level the game and then edge Urhan in front. Concubhar Harrington added another from play, before Dec Healy got his second, and then Concubhar again with his fourth of the day, and his third from play. Seven unanswered points had changed the complexion of the game, and Urhan were 0-11 to 0-07 ahead with only five to go.

With the home backs staying solid, Mathunas were only able to register one more score before a Ciarán O’ Sullivan 45 finished the scoring, sealing a gutsy comeback and securing the points.

Urhan now lie mid-table after four games with two wins and two losses, as they head into a short break.

Team: Martin McCarthy; Kieran O’ Sullivan, John Dwyer, PJ Cadogan; Martin O’ Neill, Mikey Shea, Kieran O’ Neill; Finbarr Dwyer, Daniel Dwyer; Concubhar Harrington, Ciarán O’ Sullivan, David McCarthy; Vinny Lehane, Declan Healy, Kieran Lehane.

Subs: Kevin O’ Sullivan for Martin O’ Neill, Enda Lowney for Kieran O’ Neill (inj.).