Junior Championship: Clonmore 1-10 Ballon 1-13

November 8, 2018

The Juniors were unlucky to lose by 1-13 to 1-10 to Ballon in the First Round of the Championship in Fenagh TC on Thursday last. In a very competitive game, an early goal helped Ballon to a 1-6 to 0-6 lead at half-time. Clonmore opened the second half brightly but Ballon responded to take a five point lead – 1-9 to 0-7 on 45 mins. With Bobby Rooney, Paul Byrne and Kevin McCarney driving forward from the half-back line, Clonmore fought back to level – 1-10 apiece on 55 minutes, the goal coming from Gary Byrne. With the game in the balance, Clonmore missed several good scoring chances, hitting post and crossbar. Ballon's ace marksman Liam Brennan was a constant thorn in Clonmore's side scoring 0-8 in total and it was Brennan who put the final nails in Clonmore's coffin with a couple of points in the dying minutes to give Ballon a narrow victory. 

Best wishes for a speedy recovery to Collie McGrath who suffered a painful knee injury early in this game.

Story of the game:

End Q1: Clonmore 0-2 Ballon 1-2, points by Bobby & JP

End Q2: Clonmore 0-6 Ballon 1-6, Gary, Fisher and Francie (2)

End Q3: Clonmore 0-7 Ballon 1-9, Cormac

55 mins: Clonmore 1-10 Ballon 1-10, Gary (goal), Daniel, Ger, Herbie

Full-time: Clonmore 1-10 Ballon 1-13

Team: Jason Fitzharris, Con Cashen, Clive Lambe, Jason Byrne, Kevin McCarney, Bobby Rooney (0-1), Paul Byrne (0-1), Francie Whelan (0-2, 1f), Luke Mullen, Daniel Quigley (0-1), Collie McGrath, Cormac Malee (0-1), Gary Byrne (1-1), JP Doyle (0-1), Ger Doyle (0-1). Subs: Martin Byrne for Collie (inj,18mins), Michael "Herbie" Strahan (0-1) for Cormac (50mins), Martin Doyle for Con (52mins), Ray O'Neill for Ger (55mins), Sean Foley for Daniel (BC,60mins).

Ref: Martin "Sparks" Murphy.

PHOTO: 2016 Junior team. Back: (left to right): Des Byrne, Tom Cashen, John McGrath, Jordan Kane, JP Doyle, Colin McGrath, Paul Byrne, Mick Smith, Clive Lambe, Ger Doyle, Richard Roche, Dermot Byrne. Front: Tommy Kelly, Martin Byrne, Mark Byrne, Joe Hickey, Adam Byrne, Daniel Quigley, John Connolly, Sean Doyle, Colin Doyle.