Junior C's reach League Final

November 8, 2018

Kiltormer edge out Athenry to reach League decider

Kiltormer defeated Athenry on a scoreline of 2-13 to 1-10 in this exciting game played at Ballinasloe.
Both sides traded early points, with the hurling hard but fair in tricky underfoot conditions. Francis Madden then struck for the first goal of the game to leave Athenry ahead by 3 points, but an opportunist goal by Damian Curley levelled things up again. Kiltormer then took the lead with a Paul Staunton point and held this lead to half-time. Kiltormer surged further into the lead at the start of the second half with points from Shane Furey, Justin Campbell and Quentin Lynch and a Martin Kilkenny goal to leave them ahead by 6 points going into the final quarter. However, a brave fightback from Athenry saw them cut the deficit to just two points, following scores from Cathal Fahy, Liam O’Brien and Mattie Egan. A tense few minutes followed for both sets of supporters until Mark Murphy ended the scoring with a super individual point, to leave Kiltormer the victors.
Best for Kiltormer were Pakie Dervan, Fionan Curley, Shane Furey and Justin Campbell, while on the day Athenry had good performances from Shane Cahill, Colin Byrne and Conor Lane. An interesting feature of the game was the performances of veterans Pakie Dervan and Pat Higgins – two players who played together on great Galway minor and U-21 victories in 1983 and 1986.

Teams: Kiltormer; P. Dervan, D. Gately, G. Kelly, F. Curley, James Lynch, M. Callaghan, S. Furey, Johnny Lynch, T. Kilkenny, D. Harewood, J. Campbell, Q. Lynch, P. Staunton, D. Curley, M. Murphy. Subs: M. Kilkenny, C. Curley.
Athenry; G. Gannon, S. Cahill, M. Fahy, J. O’Connor, T. Burke, C. Byrne, N. Mullins, D. Collins, C. Lane, F. Madden, P. Higgins, C. Fahy, L. O’Brien, N. Egan, D. Somers. Subs: Mark Feeney, Matthew Monaghan.
Referee: Christy Brown