Juniors lose to Ballinagar

November 8, 2018

Edenderry juniors recorded their second loss in the junior championship with a 6 point defeat to Ballinagar on Thursday night. Despite making a great start to the game the reds failed to kick on and paid the price.


Ballinagar started the scoring after just 50 seconds but just two minutes later Sean Doyle scored a great goal for Edenderry. John Gorman pointed two minutes later and Edenderry were firmly in control. Unfortunately for the reds their failure to score four one on one chances cost them dearly and when the game should of in fact been out of sight, the missed chances helped spur Ballinagar into life and they responded with 6 unanswered points. Edenderry failed to score between the 4th minute and the 26th and despite this a Sean Doyle point actually left just two points between the sides. Their was just two minutes to half time when Ballinagar tagged over two further points from their impressive centre forward and right on the stroke of half time a Ballinagar goal gave them a seven point half time lead.

The second half was of very poor quality from both sides and it took 15 minutes for either team to register a score. It was Ballinagar who got that point and Edenderry got their first score after twenty minutes when Peter O’Neill drove a free kick to the roof of the net to leave five points between the sides. Both sides traded two further points with Peter O’Neill & Sean Doyle scoring Edenderry’s.


Edenderry will be bitterly disappointed with this loss as it is a game they could have won and could have won it inside the first ten minutes only for their reluctance to take their points and insistence on going for goals. However there was eight minor footballers playing in this game so patience will be required while they gain experience. The loss of experienced players such as Shane Connell, Colin McNamara, Stephen Murphy, Dan Ryan and Colin Dunne didn’t help matters, while Cormac Hurley and Cian Lawton would also have had a part to play.


Man of the Match: Padriag Foy


Referee: D Walsh


Team Sheet:


Brendan McCabe, Padriag Foy, Adrian Bryan, Declan Fitzpatrick, Gary Blong, Johnny Blong, Aaron O’Connell, Evan Kelly, Peter O’Neill(1-1), Andrew Forde, David Farrelly, John Gorman(0-1), Sean Doyle(1-2), Pat Moloney, Stephen Abbott.


Subs: Joe Murphy for Gary Blong, Mark Nolan for Andrew Forde, Tony Kenny for Pat Moloney, Adrian Farrell.