Juniors lose to Clonmore

November 8, 2018

Edenderry juniors suffered a one point defeat to Clonmore Harps on Monday evening after an incredible fight back in the closing stages. With just two minutes remaining on the clock the reds trailed 1-6 to 0-17 but substitute Dean Cummins scored 2-1 in two minutes and almost salvaged a draw for the reds.

It was a poor first half display which cost the reds in the end having taken the lead in the sixth minute through Philip Farrell, they failed to score again until the twenty ninth minute when it was Philip Farrell again who pointed for the reds. A late Dean Cummins point in the thirty second minute left Edenderry trailing by five points at the interval.

Half time:
Edenderry 0-3 0-8 Clonmore

Edenderry were thrown a huge lifeline in the opening ten seconds of the second half when from the throw up Shane Connell sent a long ball into Dean Cummins whose shot was saved but Paddy Lynch was on hand to punch the ball into the back of the net. Philip Farrell pointed a free in the fifth minute and there was now just a point between the sides.

Clonmore hit back with two points before the reds were reduced to fourteen men after ten minutes. Philip Farrell pointed another free in the fourteenth minute for a foul on Dan Ryan. Clonmore picked up the pace and hit another two points to give them a four point lead before Philip Farrell converted another free in the twentieth minute and his fifth point of the game for a foul on Dean Cummins.

Between the twenty first and twenty eight minute Clonmore hit five unanswered points and they were cruising to victory. Anyone who had left the game early could have been forgiven for doing so but in the closing three minutes of the game, an exhibition of fielding from Dean Cummins justified the entrance fee to the match. The full forward registered 2-1 in two minutes and almost caused a upset victory.

Unfortunately for the reds they ran out of time on the night but they can take positives from the game and with a little hard work on the training field there is potential to improve on last years campaign.

Team Sheet:
Ciaran Cummins, Padriag Foy, Johnny Blong, Andrew Forde, Stephen Abbott, Aaron O’Connell, Ross Mangan, Cian Lawton, Philip Farrell(0-5), Jason Farrell, Dan Ryan, Gary Blong, Jamie Dolan, David Farrelly, John Gorman.

Dean Cummins(2-2) for Gary Blong(inj), Shane Connell for Cian Lawton, Paddy Lynch(1-0) for Jamie Dolan,