Kilbrittain GAA

November 7, 2018

Kilbrittain GAA club was founded in 1904. It has been primarily a hurling club throughout its history, though it did play in the Cork Junior Football Championship final in 1926. Hurling has always been the first sport in the parish. From the beginning, especially in the 1920s, the club enjoyed tremendous success in the South-West division, winning 6 titles in a row and again in 1930, 1938, 1940, 1941 and 1942. Yet despite all the success in their division, the club could never achieve the ultimate, the Cork Junior Hurling Championship. From the late 1940s until the 1970s, success was very rare.

The first breakthrough came in 1978 when Kilbrittain, after a lapse of 36 years, again won the Flyer Nyhan Cup or the South-West Junior Hurling Championship. Although they were beaten by Kinsale in the Cork Junior Hurling Championship, the seeds were sown for the success that would follow. In 1984, Kilbrittain reached the final of the Cork Junior Hurling Championship only to be defeated by Midleton. Kilbrittain came roaring back the next year 1985, to defeat Cobh in a brilliant final to win its first county title after 81 years.

In 1994 the Carbery divisional team won the Cork Senior Hurling Championship title with a strong number of Kilbrittain players on the team, 5 playing on the team with 2 subs. After competing 10 years in the Intermediate grade and being runners up in 3 county finals (1988, 1989, 1993) Kilbrittain won the Cork Intermediate Hurling Championship in 1995. In 1996 Kilbrittain became a senior hurling club, the only one in all of The south East and south West Cork at the time.