La na club

November 8, 2018

LA  na  CLUB

The local Neale G. A. A. club celebrated the 125th  anniversary of the G. A. A. in fine style last Sunday. Enjoyed by many and hosted in glorious sunshine it was fun fun all the way. The under 8 and 10 blitz’s were a great success. The teams that took part in the under 8’s were team A – Dylan Keane, Daniel Luskin, Ella Mc Grath,  John Morrin, Sean Burke, Gavin O’ Haire, Cian Hughes, Dylan Killeen, Keith Halloran and Conor O’ Mahony.  Team B— Killian Smyth, Peter Molloy, Oscar Coban, William Clesham, Michael Keane, Loren Mc Gaghan, Ryan Murphy and Shane Mc Gaghan.  The under 10’s Team A— Jack Murphy, Paul Gibbons, Sean Ryan, Paddy Connolly, Michael Morrin and Sean Hynes. Team B—- Darragh Morrin, Mathew Murphy, Oisin Coban, Fergal Swenney, Conor Kennedy, Kevin Duffy and Brian O’ Halloran.  The Referees were Steven Morrin and Killian Mc Hugh who did a great job.

The potato picking competition winners were: U 8 boys Michael Morrin, U8 girls Loren Mc Gaghan, U10 Brian O’ Halloran, U12 Mark Halloran, U14 Rachel Hynes and U16 Jack Winters.

The Handicap Match in which our junior men wore wellies was tight affair. In the First half they played a selection of oldies that included Pat Mc Grath, Pat Luskin, Gerry O’ Grady, Mike O’ Dea, Gerry Walsh,Richard Halloran and Tom Morrin. In the second half they played a team of younger lads. The Junior team was made up of EoIn Hughes, Padraig Mc Grath, Paddy Hopkins, Niall O’ Brien, Paul Killeen, Daragh Walsh and Sean Cosgrave.  Not to be out done the ladies turned out in force and played rugby, soccer and football. There teams were made up of Team A—Hilary Mc Grath, Emma Varley, Shiela Walsh, Cathy Sheridan, Clodagh Moloney, Olivia Coen, Niamh Geraghty, Joan Fitzgerald, Shannon Mellett and Nuala Geraghty.  Team B–  Aoife Sullivan, Amy Flynn, Avril Varley, Daniel O’ Haire, Cathy Fitzgerald, Mary Mc Grath, Melissa Nugent, Ailish Cotter and Cathy Canavan.

The Puc Fada winners were: U10 Brian O’ Halloran,  U12 Michael Varley, U14 Shane Halloran. The Cic Fada winners were: U8 Zack Ferrick, U10 Brian O’ Halloran, U12 Adam Vatley and U14 Eoin Lynagh.

The Wheel Barrow/ Water Race was great fun and the winning pairs were U12  Rachel Hynes and Chloe Gibbons, U14 Daniel Keane and Eoin Lynagh, U16 Shane Connolly and Killian Mc Hugh. The club would like to thank everyone who helped on the day and it is hoped to build on the occasion in the future.