Ladies Football news

November 7, 2018

Our annual under 10 and 12’s girls’ football Parish League will take place this Saturday the 21st of September, starting at 2pm in Anner Park Cloneen. The girls will be divided into four teams: Cork, Kerry, Monaghan and Mayo. Cork and Kerry will play first, with Monaghan and Mayo playing in the second match. The winners of these matches will go forward and play in the Cup Final and the other two teams will play in the Shield Final. Best of luck to all the girls taking part!

Junior Team

Our junior ladies team played their D cup final match against the Aherlow B team last Thursday night at 8pm under lights in Cappawhite. The St. Patrick’s ladies played their absolute heart out for the 60 minutes, however it was not to be on the evening and lost out on a final scoreline of St. Patrick’s: 1.9 to Aherlow B: 3.8. Team on the evening was: Helen Hogan, Aileen Sugrue, Roisin Horan (capt), Maeve Brown, Lynda Nevin, Siobhan Dunne, Sarah Sugrue, Sarah Mockler & Aileen Kelly, Deirdre O’Donovan, Siobhan Vaughan, Úna O’Brien, Aine O’Donovan, Orla Meagher, Niamh Fitzgerald, Niamh Morrissey, Niamh Dunne and Rebecca Hayden. Sincere thanks is extended to all the players for making the long journey to Cappawhite on the evening, as well as the many family members and supporters who came along to cheer the team on.

Gaelic for Others Team

Preparations are well under way and the excitement building for our G4O ladies team who will travel to play in Croke Park on All Ireland Ladies Final Day – Sunday the 29th of September. Well done to the ladies who will represent the team on the day and two mentors.

Congratulations to Tess Burke, St Patricks Ladies GAA team, who was crowned Queen of Sliabh na mBan, and to runner-up Holly Jean Williamson.

Thanks to both ladies for their great support.


The club would like to extend its sympathies’ to the family and friends of Mr. Denis O’Donnell, Clerihan. Mr O’Donnell is the father of former club treasurer Aileen White and grandfather to our under 12 player Avril White. May he rest in peace.