Last gasp goal gives Tipp victory in NHL

November 8, 2018

Allianz NHL Division 1: Tipperary 1-18, Offaly 2-14

Offaly looked on course for a victory over last year’s All-Ireland finalists until a goal from a free by Seamus Callanan in the third minute of injury time gave Tipperary a one point victory.

Callanan fired low to the net from about 23 metres as Offaly were doing their best to hold onto their lead.

The Offaly supporters in the 3,000 crowd were delighted when Shane Dooley once again displayed his goal-scoring prowess with two strikes in quick succession midway through the second half.

Dooley’s goals helped Offaly turn a 0-15 to 0-11 deficit into a 2-14 to 0-15 lead. But Offaly failed to score again in the last 15 minutes as Tipperary came storming back, first with three points and then the goal.

The first half was nip-and-tuck, with Tipperary enjoying a slender lead before edging in front by 0-11 to 0-7 at the interval. Offaly also lost corner back Stephen Egan and wing forward Daniel Currams – who had scored two points – with injuries.

In the second half, before Offaly’s comeback, Tipperary led by five points. Eoin Kelly fired a penalty over the bar, while Offaly goalkeeper James Dempsey pulled off a magnficient save also.

After Dooley’s two excellent strikes, a morale-boosting win looked on the cards, but it was not to be for The Faithful County. Even so, they have retained Division 1 status and can now look forward to an opening Leinster Championship tie against Antrim.

Tipperary Scorers: Eoin Kelly 0-7 (0-3 f, 0-1 pen; 0-1 ’65’); Seamus Callanan 1-2 (1-0 f); Shane McGrath, Seamus Hennessy and Jody Brennan 0-2 each; Darragh Egan, Michael Heffernan and Pat Kerwick 0-1 each.

Offaly Scorers: Shane Dooley 2-6 (0-3f, 0-1 ’65’); Daniel Currams and Joe Bergin 0-2 each; Rory Hanniffy, Cathal Parlon, Shane Kelly and Brian Carroll 0-1 each.

TIPPERARY: Darren Gleeson; Paddy Stapleton, Padraic Maher, Paul Curran; David Young, Conor O’Mahony, Michael Cahill; Hugh Maloney, Shane McGrath; Seamus Hennessy, Seamus Callanan, Jody Brennan; Eoin Kelly, Darragh Egan, Michael Heffernan.

Subs: Patrick Maher for Kelly; Shane Maher for O’Mahony; Brendan Maher for Young; John O’Brien for Heffernan.

OFFALY: James Dempsey; Michael Verney, Paul Cleary, Stephen Egan; Dylan Hayden, David Kenny, Derek Morkan; Rory Hanniffy, Shane Kelly; Daniel Currams, Joe Brady, Derek Molloy; Cathal Parlon, Joe Bergin, Shane Dooley.

Subs: James Rigney for Egan; Conor Mahon for Currams; Brian Carroll for Parlon; Ger Oakley for Molloy.