Leinster semi-final: Coláiste Eoin 2-6 V Gormanston 4-8

November 8, 2018

22/2/14: Leinster Schools Senior "D" Semi Final.

Colaiste Eoin 2-6  Franciscan College Gormanston 4-8.

Coláiste Eoin were dealt an early blow when midfielder, Anthony Byrne, was injured at the throw-in and had to leave the field with a sprained ankle. This setback did not seem to effect the lads too much as they gave as good as they got throughout the game but over the hour Anthony’s strength would have been a help against the bigger Gormanston team.

At half time the score was 2-4 to 0-5 and Colaiste Eoin with Paddy Byrne making some excellent saves in the first half. Within seconds of the re-start, CE were back in the game after an excellent goal by Laurence Murphy and it was nip and tuck for most of the second half. Conor McCarney crowned a fine performance with a second goal and there was nothing between the teams until the last few minutes when two shots for points rebounded of the posts and on each occasion the ball fell into the grateful hands of a Gormanston player who stuck the ball in the net.

These two late goals gives the scoreboard a flattering appearance as it was a much closer game than that. Coláiste Eoin won many admirers with their determined and a skillful play and should be very proud of themselves for the great year they’ve had. They certainly gave it everything on Saturday and have nothing to be ashamed of. Well done to all the players and mentors, Darragh Kelly and Barry Doogue. 

Team: Paddy Byrne (Clonmore), Joe Hickey (Clonmore), Darragh Byrne (Ballymanus), Jamie Daly (Ballymanus ), Andrew Byrne (Clonmore), Padraig Byrne (Ballymanus) 0-1, Jordan Kane (Clonmore), Tristan Maher (Knockananna), Anthony Byrne (Clonmore), Darren Nolan (Kiltegan), Conor McCarney (Clonmore) 1-1, Dale McNamara (Clonmore), Brandon Doyle (Knockananna), Adam Byrne (Clonmore) 0-3, Laurence Murphy (Kiltegan) 1-1. Subs: Luke Byrne (Kiltegan) for Anthony Byrne, Stephen Coogan (Michael Dwyers) for Darren Nolan, Josh Bowes (Clonmore) for Laurence Murphy. Subs not used: Padraig O'Toole (Michael Dwyers), Adam Doyle (Clonmore), Sean Kelly (Michael Dwyers), Chris Murray (Kiltegan)

10/2/14 South Leinster Schools Final:

Colaiste Eoin 3-8 Avondale CC 1-6 

Avondale had the physically more imposing players but Coláiste Eoin had the better teamwork, team spirit and football ability which was the difference between the teams. Avondale raced into a 0-4 to 0-2 lead after 15 minutes but three well taken goals from Tristan Maher, Brandon Doyle and Darren Nolan in the second quarter gave Coláiste Eoin the platform to push on for victory. The score at half-time was 3-4 to 0-6. Playing some delightful football, the Hacketstown lads dominated the second half and outscored Avondale by 0-6 to 1-0 to run out deserving winners on a scoreline of 3-10 to 1-6.

Coláiste Eoin captain and centre back, Jordan Kane, was presented with the winning Shield by another great centre back – Kilkenny hurling legend, Pat Henderson.

The Coláiste Eoin panel consisted of players from five clubs – Clonmore (10), Knockannana (5), Kiltegan (4), Ballymanus (3), Ml Dwyers (3) and Tinahely (1) while the Rathdrum school included players from nine clubs – Avondale (7), Laragh (4), Aughrim (3), Barndarrig (3),   Avoca (2),  Roundwood (An Tocher) (2), Annacurra (1), Ballinacor (1) and St Pats (1).

Well done to all the players and coaches, Darragh Kelly and Barry Doogue, and best of luck in the Leinster semi-final.

TEAM: Paddy Byrne (C'more), Joe Hickey (C'more), Darragh Byrne (Ballymanus), Jamie Daly (B'manus), Dale McNamara (C'more), Jordan Kane (Capt)(C'more), Andrew Byrne (C'more), Padraig Byrne (B'manus), Tristan Maher (K'nanna)(1-1), Chris Murray (Kiltegan), Adam Byrne (C'more) (0-3), Darren Nolan (Kiltegan)(1-1), Brandon Doyle (K'nanna)(1-2,1f), Anthony Byrne (C'more), Laurence Murphy (Kiltegan)(0-2, 1f). Subs: Conor McCarney (C'more) for Murray, Stephen Coogan (Ml Dwyers) for Nolan, Luke Byrne (Kiltegan) (0-1) for Kane (inj), Josh Bowes (C'more) for McCarney.