Liam Breathnach Cup Final:

November 8, 2018

Ballyhea intermediates wrapped up their season capturing the liam breatnach
cup today after a cracking encounter with courcey rovers.ballyhea settled
well and led 0-4 to 0-2 after 10 mins thanks to 2 neil ronan frees and
points from darran ronan and mce o sullivan.then on the 15th minute darran
ronan picked out mce o sullivan with a brilliant pass and mce duly slotted
the sliotar to the net to put us 1-5 to 0-3 clear.ballyhea were hurling
with great confidence now and with neil ronan and mce o sullivan firing
over some fine points we were full value for our 1-11 to 0-8 half time
lead.corceys with the aid of the breeze in the second half were thrown a
life line with a well taken goal in the 33rd minute.ballyhea rallied again
though with further points from neil and mce and a quality score from young
christopher hanley to have us 4 pints clear with 14 mins to go 1-15 to this stage both sides were serving up an excellent contest, ian
curtin pointed to put us 5 clear, courceys though mainly through vincie
hurley frees brought the deficit back to one 1-16 to 1-15 with 5 mins
remaining. mce o sullivan clipped over his 6 point to put ballyhea 2 ahead
again in the 57th min, courceys had a point in the 1st min of injury time
to set up a nail biting finish, but ballyhea stood firm to win the liam
breathnach cup for the 1st time since 1994.after the game county board
development officer declan walsh presented the liam breathnach cup to
ballyheas captain stephen dennehy.
mce o sullivan 1-6, neil ronan 0-6 , ian curtin 0-2, ian ronan 0-1, darran
ronan 0-1, christopher hanley 0-1.
team: olly morrissey, john o riordan, eamon morrissey, hugh o leary,
stephen dennehy, barry coleman, michael morrissey, aidan crowley,
christopher hanley, mce o sullivan, gavin morrissey, neil ronan, tim
shanahan, ian ronan, darran ronan
subs: ian curtin(used), owen o sullivan (used), edward rea (used), dave o
riordan, paddy o connor, dermot hawe, stephen coleman.