Malahide Under 10 Gaelic Footballers Win Dublin Community Games Championship

November 7, 2018

On Friday 12th May last, Malahide won their second consecutive Dublin Community Games Under 10’s football championship. The winning squad was drawn from the St. Sylvester’s 2007 boys’ group of kids born after 1st August 2007. The boys beat Marino/Fairview in the final which took place at home to the opposition in St. Vincent’s grounds in Marino. Not only were the opposition of a very high standard but the first heavy rain in weeks made conditions very difficult. Niall Kearney’s second half goal provided decisive for Malahide. In the end, it was the resilience in tackling and tracking back that delivered a one – point victory for our boys as the game finished 2-1 to 1-3.

Malahide Under 10 Gaelic Footballers Win Dublin Community Games Championship

IMG 3229

In earlier rounds Malahide overcame strong opposition also – they saw off Clontarf at home before they travelled to Lucan and beat Lucan away – both keenly fought wins.

The team management was led by Noel Loughran and Jay O’Toole with assistance from a group of the St. Sylvester’s Under 10 mentors.

Team captain Patrick James O’Toole was presented with the Charles Haughey Memorial cup and the players all received gold Community Games medals.

IMG 3226

The Malahide squad comprises Charlie Loughran, James Le Blanc, Cormac McGovern, Shea Ahern, Daniel Maguire, Evan Roche, Cian Cummings, Miguel Amejienda, Patrick James O’Toole, Louis French, Joseph O’Hare, Riain Cox, Niall Kearney, Adam Rooney, Fergal O’Rourke & James Reilly.

The boys will go on to compete in the Leinster Community Games representing Dublin. They will play the winners of Wicklow and Kildare during the month of June in the second round of the Leinster championship.