Match Report : SFL Div 1, Rd 1 v Leixlip 24/03/2014

November 7, 2018

Sat 22nd Mar 2014

S.F.L. Div 1, Rd 1                                        

Naas  1 – 12 ,      Leixlip     1 – 0 9

Naas started strongly and led 1 – 5 to 0 – 1 after 23 minutes but a determined last five minutes saw Leixlip score 1 – 4 without reply to level matters. A late free saw Naas lead by one point at the interval. The scores were level on two occasions in the second half.  However Naas dominated the last fifteen minutes and with three unanswered points were the victors.

Naas got off to a great start and with points from Neil Farragher (2), Conor Mellett (2) and Ronan Joyce (1) led 0 -5 to nil after sixteen minutes. An Eamonn Murphy point reduced the arrears but a Ronan Joyce goal after good work by Ross Bergin put Naas 1 – 5 to 0 – 1 ahead. Two further Eamonn Murphy points and a well taken goal by the same player brought Leixlip back into the game. Two more points from Paddy Meagher and Ciaran Fadian levelled the game at 1 – 5 each. A late Mellett free gave Naas a one point half-time lead.

An early Mellett  point put Naas two in front. Two points from Leixlip substitute Niall White brought the sides level at 1 – 7 each. . Then Mellett and Joyce for Naas swapped points with substitutes Dave Jordan and Niall White for Leixlip to again level matters after fifteen minutes. Naas dominated the last fifteen minutes and with points from Conor Mellett, Eamonn Callaghan and Ailin McDermott ran out deserving winners.

Naas: Barry Reynolds, Keith McDonnell, Michael McDonald, Oisin Gill, Fiachra Piggott, Ross Bergin, Paul Sullivan, Shane Bergin, Dave Gahon, Joey Cocoman, Neil Farragher (0 – 2), Brian Kane (0 – 1), Ronan Joyce (1 – 2), Conor Mellett (0 – 5), Eamonn Callaghan (0 – 1), Sub: Ailin McDermott.