Mayo GAA person of the year

November 8, 2018

Eight candidates have been declared in the inaugural competition to find the Mayo GAA ‘Person of the Year’ for 2011. All the Candidates are well-known in Mayo GAA circles, and the winner will be the candidate who raises the most money for the Mayo GAA cause between now and the end of November. The candidates are:

Ann Baynes (Westport),
Tony Basquill (an Aughagower native residing in Dublin),
Margaret Bolton (originally from Crossboyne, now living in Sligo),
Tommy Goonan (a Geesala native),
Liam Ludden (Castlebar),
Eamonn Clarke (Knockmore),
Peadar Higgins (Garrymore) and
Peter Geraghty (Swinford).

Each of the candidates will be organising various fund-raising initiatives around Mayo over the next five months and all monies raised will go towards the development of football and hurling in the county.
‘We feel it’s a great idea and we think it’s going to generate a lot of interest around Mayo,’ commented Paddy McNicholas, Chairman of the Mayo GAA County Board.
‘We’d like to wish all the candidates the very best of luck, and encourage the Mayo GAA community to support the cause in any way they can.’