Mayo Gaels 1-10 Balla 1-8

November 8, 2018

Mayo Gaels 1-10 Balla 1-8
The hotly contested local derby between Mayo Gaels and Balla, saw the Gaels record their first win of the season and a place in the Sean Flanagan Cup against Parke in two weeks time.

The first half began with the Gaels’ Niall Brett getting proceedings underway with a point in the opening minutes, subsequently Balla replied with two points on the trot, before Johnny Griffin put his name on the score sheet with a point from play. Balla notched up 1-2 in the latter of the half, with the Gaels’ Cathal Vahey finding reach with a point from play to leave a half-time scoreline of Mayo Gaels 0-3 Balla 1-5.

The second half saw the introduction of James Fallon for the Gaels and proved to be the key element in the Gaels comeback. Balla started the livelier with a point in the opening of the half. A free from Johnny Griffin saw the Gaels edge closer. A Barry Commons free in the centre of the field reached James Fallon who used his skill and experience to effortlessly palm the ball down to Johnny Griffin who calmly slotted the ball to the back of the net to leave one between the side. From this point on the Gaels showed their determination to secure a place in the cup final with James Fallon and Johnny Griffin combining play to set Johnny Morrin up for a point after which he soon responded with another to raise the home crowds roar. Danny Burke opened his account of the day with a point on the 20th minute of the half, followed by a point from James Fallon. Balla replied with a score before Burke added two more points from frees to his personal account of the day. Balla managed to get one more point in before the final whistle to leave a full time score-line of Mayo Gaels 1-10 Balla 1-8.

Mayo Gaels now go on to face Parke in the Cup final while Balla progress to play Islandeady in the plate final.

Mayo Gaels team: Paul Mannion, Martin Connor, Anthony Byrne, Johnny Walsh, Barry Commons, Adrian Heneghan, Ally Brett, Niall Brett (0-1), Sean Boyle, Keith Walsh, Johnny Griffin(1-2, 1f), Cathal Vahey(0-1), Neil McGurrin, Danny Burke(0-3, 2fs), Johnny Morrin(0-2). Subs: James Fallon (0-1) for Sean Boyle, Michael O’Gara for Neil McGurrin, Jonathan Sloyan for Keith Walsh, Steven Gibbons for Cathal Vahey.