MHL Final; Ballygarvan 3-13 Tracton 0-9

November 8, 2018

Ballygarvan’s Minor Hurlers repeated their Championship Final victory over Tracton when they again proved too strong in the league final.

Leading at half time by 1-6 to 0-5, after playing against the wind, Ballygarvan put the game beyond Tracton’s reach with a two goal return from Luke O’Sullivan.

The sides were level 0-2 points each after 10 minutes, Dan McCarthy and Conor Weir pointing for the winners. Further points from McCarthy and Luke O’Sullivan left Ballygarvan ahead before Conor Weir struck for a good goal. Points from McCarthy and Kieran Quinlan left them 1-6 to 0-5 ahead at the break.

With the wind picking up, Ballygarvan quickly put the game beyond Tracton with 2 fast goals, both scored by O’Sullivan, the second one a superb effort.

Further points from McCarthy, Weir, Quinlan and Timmy O’Halloran left Ballygarvan comfortably ahead at the finish, and Captain Stephen Dunne collect the league trophy to add to the chsmpionship trophy already won this year, and bring an end to a very successful year for Hurling in Ballygarvan.

Scorers; Ballygarvan: L O’Sullivan 2-1, C Weir 1-3, 0-6(4f), K Quinlan 0-2, T O’Halloran 0-1.

BALLYGARVAN: M O’Se; J O’Callaghan, F Ahern; S Dunne, E Ahern, P Seymour; T O’Halloran J Walsh; L O’Sullivan, C Weir, J Quinlan; D McCarthy, K Quinlan. Subs: D O’Sullivan, J Naidoo, S Buckley, E Jefferies, A Dunlea.

Referee: John McCann (Ballinhassig).