Mick Furlong Memorial Tournament: Clonmore 3-9 Coolkenno 1-14

November 8, 2018

Clonmore won the inaugural Mick Furlong Trophy in an exciting game played in perfect conditions at Aghowle on Saturday. 

The beautiful Trophy was presented to captain Clonmore Enda McGrath by Mick Furlong’s daughters Jackie Doran and Noeleen Lacey. 

Well done to our neighbours Coolkenno GFC for organizing a very enjoyable event with €1,000 raised for the Clonmore Cancer Trust.

Story of the game:

15 mins: Clonmore 1-2 Coolkenno 0-4: point by Con & 1-1 from Niall (free & penalty),

30mins: Clonmore 2-3 Coolkenno 0-5: point by centre back Shane Murphy and cracking goal by Willie Byrne who had moved up from wing back,

45mins: Clonmore 3-8 Coolkenno 0-9: CM took an 8 point lead after a well placed goal by John McGrath and points by Con, Paddy, Niall, Tom P & a long range effort from Clive.

55mins: Clonmore 3-8 Coolkenno 1-13: a determined fight-back by the home team leaves the minimum between the teams and it's squeeky bum time ! 

60mins: Clonmore 3-9 Coolkenno 1-13: a point by Pauric lifts the siege but in the dying seconds, a high ball into the square was punched goalwards and hit the top of the crossbar for a point, six inches lower and it would have been the winning goal. In a nail-biting finish, only wholehearted defending and a great save by Francie Whelan kept us in it. 

Well done to both teams for a very enjoyable game played in a great spirit – with 4 goals & 23 points scored, this game provided better entertainment than the recent Carlow SFC final which finished 0-9 to 0-5 !

Clonmore: Clive Lambe, David McCarney, Willie Byrne (1-0), Andrew Byrne, Paddy Gahan (0-1), Shane Murphy (0-1), Sean Tompkins, Anthony Byrne, Enda McGrath, Tom Pollard (0-1), Con Murphy (0-2), Francie Whelan (went into goal in second half), Michael 'Herbie' Strahan, John McGrath (1-0), Niall Humphries (1-2,1pen,1f). Subs: Pauric Lawlor (0-1), Paul Byrne.

PHOTO: Back (L to R): Robert Doyle, John McGrath, Willie Byrne, Andrew Byrne, Clive lambe, Paul Byrne, Francie Whelan, Anthony Byrne, Con Murphy. Front : Sean Tompkins, David McCarney, Tom Pollard, Paddy Gahan, Shane Murphy, Enda McGrath (Captain), Niall Humphries, Pauric Lawlor, Michael Strahan.