Minor "B" Championship: Clonmore 4-12 Myshall 3-5

November 8, 2018

The ever improving Clonmore Minors turned in an excellent performance to reverse a 16 point League defeat against Myshall earlier in the year. The first half was dominated by penalties as first Francis Whelan expertly converted one for Clonmore to put us 1-7 to 1-2 ahead on 16mins but two penalties in two minutes for Myshall left them leading by 3-2 to 1-7 at half time. With Keane Doyle and Rory McKiernan putting in strong performances in the centre of defence, and Josh Bowes and Cian Heffernan doing trojan work around midfield, Clonmore dominated the second half. Lively forwards Eoin Byrne, Luke Mullen, Francis Whelan and Dan Quigley kept the scoreboard ticking over while impressive substitute, Sean Deay, converted two long range frees to see Clonmore home.

Story of the game:

15mins: Clonmore 0-5 Myshall: 1-2 – Eoin free, Larry pt, Eoin goal, Luke pt, Francis pt.

16 min: Clonmore 1-5 Myshall 1-2 – Francis scores penalty after he was fouled himself.

30 mins: Clonmore 1-7 Myshal 3-2 – Two Myshall penalties in 23rd & 24th mins turn game on its head.

40 min: Clonmore 2-9 Myshall 3-3 – Back level afterJosh point and Eoin Byrne goal & pt.

48 mins: Clonmore 3-10 Myshall 3-3 – Luke Mullen goal & Sean Deay long range free sees us start to pull away.

60 mins: Clonmore 4-12 Myshall 3-5 – Points by Sean Deay (long free), Francis and late Daniel goal seals a convincing and deserved victory.

TEAM: Melvyn Kinch, Jack Duffy, Keane Doyle, Cormac Malee, Cormac Connolly, Rory McKiernan, Rory Maguire, Cian Heffernan, Josh Bowes (0-1), Larry doyle (0-1), Luke Mullen (1-1), Daniel Quigley (1-0), Keith Bowes, Eoin Byrne (1-4, 1f), Francis Whelan (1-3, 1pen).

Subs: Sean Deay (0-2, 2f) for Jack, Luke Connolly for Keith, Sean Deery for Eoin (inj, 50m), Dan Cashen for Cormac Malee.

Naomh Eoin: Damien Jordan, Cathal Nolan, Donal Jordan, Steve Tracey, Gavin Ruschitzko, David Nolan, Tadgh Daly, Anthony Nolan, Cathal Tracy (2-1,2pens), Michael Kavanagh, Shiam Harmon (0-1), Eoin Hosey, James Smithers (0-2), Jamie Kavanagh (1-0), River Harmon (0-1). Subs: A Sullivan for Cathal Nolan, Tom Dunne for Shiam Harmon.