Minor Championship Semi-Final Myshall 0-12 Clonmore 1-5

November 8, 2018

The Minors bowed out of the Championship after a gallant display against Myshall in Fenagh last Saturday. There was no shortage of effort from the players but things just didn't click on the day and they had no luck – narrowly missing a number of good scoring chances and suffering injuries to four important players. Myshall scored the first 2 points before Jake Hickey scored a brilliant goal for Clonmore on 7 mins and Eoin Byrne put us 1-1 to 0-3 ahead on 17 mins. There was a long delay due to a serious injury to Clonmore's full back, Keane Doyle, and Myshall scored 2 points in injury time to lead 0-6 to 1-1 at HT. In the second half, Clonmore created lots of chances but just couldn't score and then gave away unnecessary frees which were punished by Myshall's deadly free taker, Cathal Treacy. With only 3 points between the teams, Cian Heffernan hit the post with a late goal chance and Myshall broke away to score a point to finish 4 ahead. Games are decided on such small margins. The club wishes a speedy recovery to the four Clonmore players who had to leave the field injured (Keane Doyle, Cormac Connolly, Matt Cullen and Josh Bowes). We would also like to thank the entire Minor panel & mentors for their efforts in not just ensuring that we fielded a Minor team this year but also for producing some excellent performances which augurs well for the future.

Team: Melvyn Kinch, Cormac Connolly, Keane Doyle, Sean Tompkins, Adam Deay, Rory McKiernan, Matt Cullen, Cian Heffernan (0-1), Josh Bowes, Tom Pollard, Luke Mullen, Jordan Tallon (0-2,1f), Jake Hickey (1-0), Larry Doyle, Eoin Byrne (0-2). Subs: Rory Maguire for Keane (inj, 15 mins), Luke Connolly for Cormac (inj, HT), Francis Whelan for Tom Pollard (53mins), Dan Cashin for Josh (black card, 57 mins), Keith Bowes for Matt (inj, 63 mins). Ref: Billy Fanning (Ballon).

PHOTO: Back (left to right): Rory McKiernan, Luke Connolly, Eoin Byrne, Jordan Tallon, Melvyn Kinch, Luke Mullen, Dan Cashin, Cian Heffernan, Francis Whelan, Jonathan Byrne, Larry Doyle, Sean Deay. Front: Cormac Connolly, Matt Cullen, Jake Hickey, Josh Bowes, Sean Tompkins, Sean Deery, Tom Pollard, Keith Bowes, Rory Maguire, Keane Doyle. Missing: Daniel Quigley, Cormac Malee.