November 7, 2018


NAAS   1  –  13      MAYNOOTH   0  –  9

Naas qualified for their first Minor Football Final since 2009 with a seven point victory over Maynooth in the semi-final. They now play Clane in the final in St. Conleths on Sunday 16th.October.

Naas started well with points from Shane Ryan and Darragh Kirwan. Before the end of the first quarter Maynooth had equalised with points from Kevin Dunne and Ruadhan O Giollain   . Ciaran Doyle and Eoin Donnellan then  swapped points . Some poor shooting on behalf of the Naas forwards kept Maynooth in the game. Maynooth finished the stronger with points from Niall O’Sullivan and Eoin Donnellan to lead at the interval by 0 – 5 to 0 – 3.

Naas drew level within five minutes of the second half with points from Colm Joyce and Ciaran Doyle. Naas took control in the second half and scored six points without reply from Ciaran Doyle(2), Colm Joyce(2) , Darragh Kirwan and Luke Griffin (0 – 1 each). With five minutes to go Naas led 0 – 13 to 0 – 7. A late Luke Griffin goal for Naas set the seal on a famous victory.

Naas: Luke Mullins, Cathal Daly, Conor McCarthy , Brian Stynes, Darragh Merriman, Cathal Dowling, David Shaw, Adam Cronin, James Burke, Ben Blackburne(0 – 1), Darragh Kirwan(0 – 2), Colm Joyce(0 – 3), Ciaran Doyle(0 – 5), Luke Griffin(1 – 1), Shane Ryan(0 – 1).


Naas have won the Kildare Minor Football Championship on five occasions 1932, 1934, 1952,1981 and 1983. They contested the final on two other occasions in 1970 when defeated by Sarsfields and 2009 when defeated by Athy.