November 7, 2018


NAAS      0 – 18          CARBURY      0 – 18 (AET)

This game was a credit to both teams and they well deserved the standing ovation they received at the end of the game. Both sides played good attacking football. Naas led all the way, they were three ahead at the interval and still three ahead with two minutes to go. Three late Carbury points brought the sides level at 0 – 14 each at the end of the game.

In extra time it was 0 – 16 all at half-time. At the start of the second half Carbury went two points clear but two late Darragh Kirwan frees ensured a replay.

Naas started well with four points in a row from Colm Joyce (2) Darragh Kirwan and Adam Cronin. Carbury then reduced the lead to two points before Colm Joyce and Mark Cully swapped points. A Darragh Kirwan point was cancelled by a Ciaran McKeon point for Carbury but Dallen Gallagher pointed for Naas just before the interval. Naas led 0 – 7 to 0 – 4.

Carbury reduced the arrears to two points with a Ciaran McKeon point. The sides scored two points each before two Luke Griffin points made it 0 – 11 to 0 – 7. Jack Cully (Carbury) and Darragh Kirwan traded points. The Naas lead was then reduced to two when Mark Cully and Gary Redmond pointed. Kirwan and David Kelly swapped points  before Paddy McDermott made it a three point game However late points from David Kelly and Jack Kelly(2) brought the sides level at the final whistle.

In the first half of extra time the teams scored two each to make it 0 – 16 each at the interval. In the second half Carbury went two points clear with two Jack Cully points but two Darragh Kirwan frees saved the day for Naas.

Naas: David Morrissey, Cathal Daly, Rian Boran, Ciaran Redmond, Brian Stynes, Adam Cronin(0 – 2), Eoghan Prizeman, Sean Cullen, Ian Blackbourne, Darragh Kirwan (0 – 8), Paddy McDermott(0 – 1), Dallen Gallagher(0 – 1), Barry Keogh, Colm Joyce(0 – 3), Luke Griffin (0 – 2), Sub: Ciaran Tobin (0 – 1).

Carbury: Aaron O’Neill, Josh Brown, Dean Cummins, Ciaran Holton, Justin Reilly, Brian Milmoe, Michael Gill, James Carey, Ger Cunningham,(0 – 1), Gary Redmond(0 – 2), Ciaran McKeon(0 – 2), Eoin Lenehan, Mark Cully(0 – 1), Jack Cully(0 – 8), Jack Smyth(0 – 1). Subs David Kelly(0 – 2), Ollie Gill(0 – 1).