Minors ease to seven pint victory

November 8, 2018

Edenderry minors kept their slim hopes of reaching the knockout stages alive with a seven point win over Gracefield on Wednesday night. Inspired by their captain Sean Moriarty(1-9) the reds dominated for fifty minutes of the game with Gracefield scoring 2-3 in the final eleven minutes.

Edenderry midfielder Peter O’Neill opened the scoring after just twenty seconds with a great point and the reds added further scores from Alex Kenny, Jamie Dolan and O’Neill again. With nine minutes on the clock full forward Sean Moriarty buried the ball to the back of the net to stretch the home sides lead to 1-4 to no score.

Gracefield registered their first two scores of the game in the eleventh and fourteenth minute but Edenderry hit back with a flurry of scores from Daryl O’Connor, Oran Lawton, Sean Moriarty(2) and Peter O’Neill while Gracefield hit their third in the eighteenth minute.

In the closing stages of the first half points from Sean Moriarty(2), Peter O’Neill and Mikie Clear gave the reds a very comfortable thirteen point lead.

Half time:
Edenderry 1-13 0-3 Gracefield

Gracefield scored the first point of the second half after thirty seconds but a Sean Moriarty free in the third minute quickly cancelled it out. Gracefield scored their fifth in the eight minute but a Karl Murphy assist and a Sean Moriarty point again kept the reds in a comfortable thirteen point lead.

Moriarty then registered three more points in the eleventh, twelfth and eighteenth minute to round of Edenderry’s scoring for the day but the final ten minutes belonged to the Laois border side when they hit 2-3 without reply after the reds took their foot off the gas.

Best for Edenderry on the night were Matthew O’Grady, Peter O’Neill, Oran Lawton, Jason Farrell, Sean Moriarty while young David Moloney was very solid on his minor debut.

The game was well refereed by Martin Carty.

Man of the match: Sean Moriarty.

Team Sheet:
Cormac Hurley, David Moloney, Aaron O’Connell, Jason Farrell, Ciaran Farrell, Matthew O’Grady, Karl Murphy, Evan Kelly, Peter O’Neill(0-4), Mikie Clear(0-1), Oran Lawton(0-1), Daryl O’Connor(0-1), Alex Kenny(0-1), Sean Moriarty(1-9), Jamie Dolan(0-1).