Minors scrape past Ferbane/Belmont

November 8, 2018


Last Friday evening the Edenderry minor footballers made a winning start to the 2009 championship as they defeated Ferbane/Belmont at home on a scoreline of 1-13 to 1-11.

Edenderry had a dreadful start to this game, as Ferbane/Belmont stormed into a big lead when they scored an unanswered goal and five points. The first score came from a free awarded by the referee for a foot-block by an Edenderry defender. Then Ferbane/Belmont scored a goal, which was easy for them as the Edenderry defence opened up in front of them. Ferbane/Belmont then added four more points, including a couple of excellent long range efforts. Then Edenderry finally opened their account when Sean Doyle sent over a good point, after Shane Delaney found him with a quick free kick. Edenderry soon had their second point when Mark Young made a burst from midfield, and gave the ball into full forward Dan Ryan, who passed to Philip Farrell who kicked a great point. The Edenderry management then made a switch with Shane Steel coming into the action for James Mackey, with Shane going in at corner-back and Daniel Nolan going to wing-back. Ferbane/Belmont then scored the next point, after one of their forwards was quickest to a rebound from a brilliant diving block from Dan Moloney which denied Ferbane/Belmont a certain goal. Just before the break Edenderry pulled back a point when Sean Doyle sent over a great score, after a very good pass from Stuart Cullen.

Halftime, Edenderry 0-03 Ferbane/Belmont 1-06.

At the break Peter O’Neill was introduced to the half forward line in place of Conor Brereton. Edenderry made the perfect start to the second half when the lively Sean Doyle had the ball in the Ferbane/Belmont net, after the full-back made a fine block from a Dan Ryan shot, and the ball fell nicely to Sean. Ferbane/Belmont then increased their lead to four points, as they sent over a point from a free. Stuart Cullen then scored two good points, the first from a free and the second from an excellent long range shot. Ferbane/Belmont were then reduced to 14 men when their full-back was sent off for his second yellow card. Ferbane/Belmont grabbed the next point when a forward soloed straight through the heart of the Edenderry defence. Sean Doyle then scored another point, before Ciaran Hurley was brought into the game for Shane Delaney. Sean Doyle scored yet another point, after a great pass from Philip Farrell. Peter O’Neill levelled the game at 1-08 apiece when kicked a very good point. Philip Farrell then put Edenderry in front for the first time in the game, when he kicked a brilliant point from a free, awarded for a foul on Mark Young. Mark then grabbed his opening point of the game when he sent over a point from a big distance out. Peter O’Neill then scored his second point since his introduction, as he sent over a very good shot. Stuart Cullen added his third point of the game, after good approach play by Philip Farrell and Sean Doyle. Ferbane/Belmont then pulled a point back from a long range free, before Shane Forde kicked a good point after a pass from Ciaran Hurley. Ferbane/Belmont scored another point from a free, before it looked like Sean Doyle had scored a goal for Edenderry. But unfortunately it was ruled out, as the umpires had adjudged Sean to be in the square before the ball arrived from a Daniel Nolan shot.

Despite playing poorly in this game, Edenderry will be delighted to get through, as it was the first game of any description for a lot of the team since last year’s championship, and it was evident that a lot of the players were very rusty. Edenderry had some good performances from Dan Moloney, Dan Nolan, David Hanlon, Stuart Cullen, Ciaran Hurley, and man-of-match Sean Doyle.

Team: Ciaran Cummins; Shane Cronin, Daniel Moloney, Daniel Nolan; David Hanlon, Jamie Daly, James Mackey; Mark Young (0-1), Shane Forde (0-1); Shane Delaney, Philip Farrell (0-2), Conor Brereton; Sean Doyle (1-4), Daniel Ryan, Stuart Cullen (0-3).

Substitutes: Shane Steel, Peter O’Neill (0-2), Ciaran Hurley, Oisin Kelly, Gary Blong, Aaron O’Connell, Evan Kelly, Cian Lawton, Andrew Forde, Sean Moriarty.

Referee: Tomas Darby.