November 7, 2018


NAAS   O  –  18       CLANE   1  –  11

Naas bridged a 33 year gap to win their sixth minor title with an impressive victory over Clane. Naas were on song from the beginning from goal keeper Luke Mullins to left corner forward and captain Ciaran Doyle. Naas were leading 0 – 7 to  0 – 2 when a Ciaran Kelly goal for Clane in the 22nd minute reduced the arrears to two points . Naas led  0 – 7 to 1 – 2.

 At half time Naas were five points clear but it did not look enough with Clane having wind advantage in the second half. Naas always had the upper hand and maintained a five point lead for most of the half. As the game entered injury time Clane scored three unanswered points to leave two between them. But it was not enough and the game ended with a Colm Joyce point for Naas

 Clane won the toss but opted to play against the wind in the first half. With the aid of the wind Naas were quick into their stride with two early points from free taker Darragh Merriman. Ciaran Kelly replied with a point for Clane. Naas dominated the next ten minutes scoring five unanswered points from Shane Ryan, Darragh Kirwan, Darragh Merriman, Luke Griffin and Ciaran Doyle to lead 0 – 7 to 0 – 2 after twenty minutes.

A Ciaran Kelly point followed by his 22nd minute goal left two between them. Within two minutes Naas had cancelled out that goal with three points from Darragh Kirwan (2) and Ciaran Doyle. Then Sam McCormack(Clane) and Darragh Merriman (Naas) swapped points before the interval. Naas led 0 – 11 to 1 – 3.

Clane started strongly in the second half and within three minutes had points from Shane O’Sullivan and Ciaran Kelly. Kirwan and Joyce (Naas) swapped points with Ciaran Kelly (Clane). Half way through the half Naas opened up a five point lead with points from Darragh Kirwan and Shane Ryan. After both sides scored two points each Naas still led by five with seven minutes to go. Despite a late Clane surge Naas went on to win their sixth title having won in 1932,1934,1952, 1981 and 1983.

Naas: Luke Mullins, Cathal Daly, Conor McCarthy, Brian Stynes, Darragh Merriman (0 – 4), David Shaw, Adam Cronin, Ben Blackbourne, James Burke, Colm Joyce(0 – 2), Shane Ryan(0 – 3), Mikey Kenny, Luke Griffin(0 – 2), Darragh Kirwan(0 – 5), Ciaran Doyle ( C ) (0 – 2).

Man of the Match: Darragh Kirwan (Naas)

Referee: Brendan Hickey.