November 8, 2018

Junior County League Div 1 Rathmore versus Kilcummin in Kilcummin on Friday 13th June at 7:30p.m.
Junior County League Div 6A Rathmore C versus Beaufort B in Rathbeg on Friday 13th June at 7:30p.m.
U-11 East Kerry Championship Rathmore versus Dr. Crokes in Rathbeg on Wednesday 11th June at 7:00p.m.

Junior County League Div 6A Rathmore C w/o Laune Rangers C

Senior County League Rathmore 2-09 Ardfert 2-07
Played in ideal conditions this game had the same outcome as the sides county championship game during the week with Rathmore coming out on top. Ardfert started the game brightly with points from a Damien Wallace free and Mairtin Ferris. Rathmore were very slow getting into the game with bad passing and terrible shooting. In the 15th minute Damien Wallace scored a great goal leaving Denis Reen with no chance. The score now Rathmore 0-00 Ardfert 1-02. Then in the 19th minute Conor O’ Sullivan broke through the Ardfert rearguard to slot the ball into the net. Rathmore followed this up with a Michael O’ Riordan point in the 21st minute, leaving a point between the sides. Two quick points by Damien Wallace in the 25th and 28th minute pushed Ardfert further ahead. A Michael O’ Riordan free in the 29th minute kept Rathmore in touch. A great point by John Dowling for Ardfert finished the scoring for the half.
Half time Rathmore 1-02 Ardfert 1-05.
Rathmore started the second half with two quick frees converted by Michael O’ Riordan and Jerry Murphy, leaving the score Rathmore 1-04 Ardfert 1-05. A Damien Wallace free in the 5th minute opened Ardfert’s second half scoring, and then in the 6th minute Jerry Murphy converted a Rathmore free. In the 10th minute an Eoin Lawlor shot was leg blocked in the square resulting in a penalty, which John Buckley empathically dispatched to the net. Now Rathmore lead 2-05 to 1-06. Ardfert responded with a Wallace free in the 13th minute. Rathmore’s John Hickey burst through to score a point in the 14th, and substitute Daniel O’ Sullivan pushed Rathmore further ahead with a point in the 15th minute. Both sides missed easy scores in the following minutes and then in the 26th minute a long range free by John Buckley pushed Rathmore 4 points ahead 2-08 to 1-07. Ardfert came up the field and were awarded a penalty, which was converted by Damien Wallace leaving Ardfert only trailing by a point. In the 29th minute a great point by Damien Casey insured that Rathmore collected another two county league points.

Rathmore team and scorers: Denis Reen, Michael J. Kelleher, Kieran Cahill, Michael
O’ Sullivan, Brian O’ Leary, Ian Kelliher, John Hickey (0-01), John Buckley (1-01), Steven Lehane, George O’ Keeffe, Damien Casey (0-01), Conor O’ Sullivan (1-00), Michael O’ Riordan (0-03, 2 frees), Jerry Murphy (0-02, 2 frees), Eoin Lawlor. Subs used: Daniel O’ Sullivan (0-01) for Michael J. Kelleher, Paul Reen for Michael O’ Riordan and Donal Casey for Eoin Lawlor.

Sam Maguire: Sam Maguire Cup will be in Rathbeg on Wednesday 11th June between 6p.m and 8p.m. All juvenile members and their parents are invited to attend. Pictures of all juvenile teams for 2008 will be taken on the night.

Community Games: Congratulations to the Rathmore/Gneeveguilla U-10 team and mentors who won the county final.

We wish a speedy recovery to Kieran O’ Sullivan who got injured in the County Championship game against Ardfert.

Best Wishes to Tom and Aidan against Clare in the Munster semi final on Sunday.