November 8, 2018

Junior County League Div 1 Rathmore versus Kerins O Rahillys in Rathbeg on Friday 30th May at 7:30p.m.

Junior County League Div 6A Rathmore C versus Sneem B in Sneem on Friday 30thMay at 7:30p.m.

U-11 East Kerry Championship Rathmore versus Gneeveguilla in Gneeveguilla on Wednesday 4th June at 7:00p.m.

U-12 County League Rathmore versus Listowel Emmets in Listowel on Sunday 1st June at 7:00p.m.

Junior County League Div 6A Rathmore C 2-08 Glenbeigh/Glencar B 2-08

This game was played in Rathbeg on Friday 23rd May. Glenbeigh/Glencar settled into this game from the throw in scoring a point and followed up with a goal in the opening 10 minutes. They dominated the early proceedings but they failed to register their dominance on the scoreboard. They kicked wide after wide and should have been up at least 10 points at half time. Rathmore finally got off the mark thanks to a free by Dermie Fitzgerald in the 20th minute. Both sides then swapped points before the half time whistle leaving the score Rathmore 0-02 Glenbeigh/Glencar 1-02. The second half started with tactical changes by Rathmore and these worked effectively as Rathmore tacked on two early points. But Glenbeigh/Glencar came back into the game with a goal and a few points to leave the score midway through the half Rathmore 0-05 Glenbeigh/Glencar 2-06. At this stage it didn’t look good for the home side but fair play to the players they battled hard and were reward when Dermie Fitzgerald found the net in the 21st minute, and soon after Joey McAuliffe finished a great Rathmore move to leave the score Rathmore 2-05 Glenbeigh/Glencar 2-06 heading into the final five minutes. Then both sides swapped points, and Glenbeigh/Glencar pushed onto to score another point leaving them leading by 2 points with 2 minutes remaining. Rathmore drove forward to score a point and then in the dying seconds Rathmore were awarded a free, Dermie Fitzgerald slotted it coolly over the bar so the game ended level 2-08 a piece.
Rathmore team and scorers: S. Noonan, D. Kelleher, L. O’ Keeffe, J. Dineen, J. Connell, C. Kelly, T.J. O’ Sullivan, J. Hughes, I. O’ Leary (0-01), J. Moynihan, D. Lehane, J. McAuliffe (1-01), D. Fitzgerald (1-06), J.J. Murphy, S. Fitzgerald. Subs: E. Doherty for D. Kelleher, B. Nagle for S. Fitzgerald, S. Fitzgerald for T.J. O’ Sullivan.