November 8, 2018

County League: Rathmore 1-08 Milltown/Castlemaine 1-05
Played in terrible conditions in a rain drenched Rathbeg, Rathmore kept a 100% record in the County League. Milltown/Castlemaine opted to play with the wind in the first half, and opened the scoring in the 1st minute thanks to the boot of Gavin Wrenn. Rathmore opened their account in the 3rd minute through a great score by Kerry star Aidan O’ Mahony. In the 5th minute Rathmore’s George O’ Keeffe hit the post after a great run, and Milltown/Castlemaine escaped. The conditions got worst and both teams found it hard to play good football. In the 12th minute Gavin Wrenn pushed Milltown/Castlemaine ahead. As the rain lashed down both sides missed scoring chances, then in the 23rd minute a Wrenn free left Milltown leading 0-03 to 0-01. Rathmore finished the half strongly and thanks to points from Conor O’ Sullivan, and a Michael O’ Riordan free, the teams went in at half time level.
Half time score Rathmore 0-03 Milltown/Castlemaine 0-03.
The second half was hardly two minutes old when Milltown/Castlemaine scored a goal through Kieran McKenna, when he reacted quickly to a Gavin Wrenn shot that hit the bar. Rathmore replied in the 5th minute with a Damien Casey free. Now the underfoot conditions were very slippery and both sides couldn’t find the target. In the 12th minute Eoin Lawlor latched onto a Damien Casey pass and took the ball around Goal Keeper Joe Daly and dispatched the ball into the net soccer style. This left the score Rathmore 1-04 Milltown/Castlemaine 1-03. Rathmore pushed on to kill off the game scoring four unanswered points through a Michael O’ Riordan free, a punched effort by Stephen Lehane, and two sublime points by Eoin Lawlor and John Buckley. Milltown/Castlemaine tried hard to get back into the game, and they scored two late points from Shane Murphy and Sean Keane but it wasn’t enough to deny Rathmore.
Final Score Rathmore 1-08 Milltown 1-05.
Rathmore: Jamie Cooper, Kieran Cahill (capt), Tom O’ Sullivan, Mike J Kelleher, James O’ Sullivan, Kieran O’ Sullivan, Brian O’ Leary, Aidan O’ Mahony (0-01), John Buckley (0-01), Conor O’ Sullivan (0-01), George O’ Keeffe, Stephen Lehane (0-01), Michael Riordan (0-02), Damien Casey (0-01), Eoin Lawlor (1-01).
Subs: Ian Kelleher for Kieran O’ Sullivan, Patrick Reen for Stephen Lehane, Donal Casey for Michael O’ Riordan, John Hickey for Brian O’ Leary.

Senior County League Div 1 Rathmore versus Kerins O’ Rahillys in Strand Road on Sunday 6th April at 2:30 p.m.
U-14 County League Rathmore versus Ballyduff in Rathbeg on Wednesday 2nd April at 7:00 p.m.

Minor County League Rathmore 3-09 Keel/Cromane 0-05.