November 8, 2018

Results:  O Donoghue Cup Semi Final Rathmore 0-07 Kilcummin 0-10.
               East Kerry Minor Div 1 Final Rathmore 4-05 Legion 0-08

Outdoor Synthetic Field is now opened in Rathmore village. A 40 metre by 20 metre field will cost €40 per hour. For bookings please contact Mike on (085) 1741487.

Kilcummin 0-10 Rathmore 0-07
Rathmore bowed out of the O’ Donoghue Cup against Kilcummin on Sunday last in Fitzgerald Stadium. Kilcummin deserved their victory as they showed better team work in the second half to see off a disappointing Rathmore performance. Kilcummin played with the strong wind in the first half and wing back Kieran O’ Donoghue opened their scoring in the 4th minute. A Michael O’ Riordan free in the 6th minute levelled up matters. Now the driving rain and wind made it very hard for both sets of players to play any kind of football. In the 14th minute a DJ Fleming free put Kilcummin ahead, then in the 18th minute Rathmore nearly got a goal when Daniel O’ Sullivan’s shot just went inches wide. A Jerry Murphy point in the 20th minute left both sides with two points a piece. Kilcummin went two ahead in the following minutes thanks to points by David Brosnan in the 23rd minute and DJ Fleming in the 27th minute. Just before half time Michael O’ Riordan converted a free to leave the minimum between the teams heading in at half time. Half Time score Kilcummin 0-04 Rathmore 0-03.
During the interval the wind died down so Rathmore had no advantage for the second half. Kilcummin started the half very strongly and should have been well ahead only they missed chance after chance, and Jameson Hughes also made a good save in the 7th minute to keep them out. In the 12th minute an Eammon O’ Donoghue free pushed them two ahead but Daniel O’ Sullivan kept Rathmore in touch with a great point in the 14th minute. Kilcummin restored their two-point advantage in the 15th minute when Kevin Gorman pointed. Daniel O’ Sullivan pointed again in the 19th minute to leave the minimum between the sides. But it was Kilcummin who went two ahead again in the 22nd minute when Colm Lenihan pointed. A Jerry Murphy pointed free in the 25th minute left Rathmore trailing by one again, Kilcummin 0-07 Rathmore 0-06. Now Kilcummin took over and got points through DJ Fleming and Kieran O’ Donoghue to leave them ahead by three heading into the dying minutes. Then in the 29th minute Rathmore were awarded a penalty and John Buckley stepped up to take it but Kealy made a great save to deny Rathmore drawing level. A David Brosnan point in the 30th minute was the insurance score that left four between the sides. Deep in injury time Rathmore got a consolation point through the boot of substitute Conor O’ Sullivan. Final Score Rathmore 0-07 Kilcummin 0-10.
Rathmore team and scorers: Jameson Hughes, Kieran Cahill, Tom O’ Sullivan, Michael Joe Kelleher, James O’ Sullivan, Kieran O’ Sullivan, Brian O’ Leary, Tim Cronin, John Buckley, Aidan O’ Mahony, Daniel O’ Sullivan (0-02), Eoin Lawlor, Michael O’ Riordan (0-02), Damien Casey, Jerry Murphy (0-02). Subs used: Michael O’ Sullivan for Michael J Kelleher, Conor O’ Sullivan (0-01) for Eoin Lawlor, Ian Kelleher for Brian O’ Leary.

Rathmore 4-05 Legion 0-08
This East Kerry Minor Division 1 Final was played in Rathbeg on Saturday last. The Rathmore Minors captured their second title of the season as they won comfortably before their home crowd. The game was played in desperate conditions, as there was a lot of surface water on the pitch from the heavy rain that fell before the game. Rathmore started the game brightly as a Mark Kelliher point within the first minute opened their account. A Donal O’ Sullivan free in the 6th minute doubled Rathmore’s advantage. Then in the 12th minute Legion had a chance of a goal but Rathmore Keeper Patrick Noonan made a great save to deny the town side. It was Rathmore who got a goal in the 15th minute when full forward John Friel scrambled the ball to the net after good play by John Moynihan who cut through the Legion defence. Legion finally opened their account in the 16th minute thanks to James O’ Donoghue, leaving the score Rathmore 1-02 Legion 0-01. A John Moynihan point in the 21st minute put Rathmore 5 points ahead. Legion kept in touch with two frees from corner forward David O’ Sullivan in the 23rd and 25th minute leaving them behind by three points. But just before half time in the 29th minute Rathmore struck another goal when a Donal O’ Sullivan free was palmed by John Friel into the path of William O’ Connor who finished the ball into the Legion net. Rathmore lead by 6 points at half time 2-03 to 0-03.
Rathmore started the second half as they finished the first half with a goal, John Moynihan found the Legion net within two minutes of the restart. Legion opened their account with a David O’ Sullivan free in the 6th minute. Rathmore added a point through Donal O’ Sullivan’s free taking in the 8th minute. Then in the 9th minute Rathmore struck another goal and ended the game as a contest when John Friel found the Legion net for his second goal of the day, Rathmore 4-04 Legion 0-04. Legion added a point in the 10th minute when substitute Thomas Moriarty pointed. A Mark Reen free in the 12th minute kept 12 points between the sides. James O’ Donoghue converted a free in the 16th minute and in the 17th minute Noonan made another great save when O’ Donoghue tried for goal from a quick free. Entering the last 10 minutes of the game Legion lost their heads as they knew they were defeated and referee Donal Casey had to be on his guard as the game threatened to boil over. He awarded Legion a penalty in the 21st minute but David O’ Sullivan’s attempt hit the post. Legion added another two points in the dying minutes through frees from James O’ Donoghue and David O’ Sullivan, to leave the final score Rathmore 4-05 Legion 0-08. So Rathmore are League winners for 2008, and hopefully they can take this great form into the Championship when they meet Dr. Crokes in the semi final.
Rathmore team and scorers: Patrick Noonan, Eugene O’ Connor, David McCarthy, Damien Doherty, Colm Kelly, Paul Murphy, Brendan O’ Keeffe, Mark Kelleher (0-01), Donal O’ Sullivan (0-02), William O’ Connor (1-00), Stephen Murphy, Sean O’ Riordan, Mark Reen (0-01), John Friel (2-00), John Moynihan (1-01).