Offaly GAA Award Winners Announced

November 8, 2018

This year, Sean Foran of Edenderry and Andy Gallagher of Tullamore have been chosen to receive the Hall of Fame awards in football and hurling, respectively.

The captains of the two clubs which won the Offaly senior county finals have, coincidentally, been selected to receive awards also. Scott Brady of Clara is the Senior Footballer of the Year and Shane Dooley of Tullamore is the Senior Hurler of the Year.

In all, 15 awards will be presented to hurlers, footballers, referees, a handballer and, of course, the Hall of Fame inductees.

The selection committee were members of the local media – John O’Callaghan (Midland Tribune), Kevin Corrigan (Tullamore Tribune), Alan Walsh (Offaly Express), Damian Moran (Offaly Express) and Mary Dunne (Offaly Topic).

The Offaly GAA awards have been sponsored by the Bridge House Hotel since 2001 and the function always attracts a big attendance. Tickets, costing €40 each, are available from County Board officers Brendan Minnock, P.R.O., at 085 8005098 and Pat Teehan, Chairman, at 087 6593757 and may also be ordered through club secretaries. The full list of recipients for 2009 is:

Hurling Hall of Fame: Andy Gallagher (Tullamore)

Football Hall of Fame: Sean Foran (Edenderry)

Senior Hurling: Shane Dooley (Tullamore)

Senior Football: Scott Brady (Clara)

Intermediate Hurling: Fergal Daly (Brosna Gaels)

Intermediate Football: Brian Connor (Walsh Island)

Junior Hurling: Michael Cleary (Shinrone)

Junior Football: Brian Geraghty (Durrow)

Under 21 Hurling: Conor Mahon (Kilcormac/ Killoughey)

Under 21 Football: Ross Brady (Clara)

Minor Hurling: James Sullivan (St Rynagh’s)

Minor Football: Anton Sullivan (Rhode)

Hurling Referee: Tony Carroll (Kinnitty)

Football Referee: Damian Brazil (Shannonbridge)

Handball: Michéal O’Brien (Crinkle)