Offaly gauranteed Div 1 status for 2011

November 8, 2018

Offaly ensured they will compete in Division 1 of the National Hurling League next season after a one point defeat of Limerick at O’Connor Park on Sunday, 28th March.

Offaly were pushed all the way by Limerick and were relieved to come through to earn their second victory.

Offaly scored a first minute goal through Ger Healion, but Limerick hit back with a 20th minute goal. Offaly went ahead at the break by 1-9 to 1-6. In the second half, Offaly threatened to pull clear when Ger Healion scored his second goal,  but Limerick refused to conceded defeat and stayed in touch after raising further green flags.

But the Faithful County held on and now are safe from danger with games to come away to Waterford and at home to Tipperary.

Offaly scorers: Shane Dooley 0-10 (4f, 2’65’); Ger Healion 2-1; Joe Bergin 0-3 (1 pen); Daniel Currams 0-2; Brian Carroll 0-1.

Offaly: Brian Mullins; David Franks, David Kenny, Michael Verney; Dylan Hayden, Paul Cleary, Derek Morkan; Rory Hanniffy, James Rigney; Daniel Currams, Joe Brady, Joe Bergin; Brian Carroll, Ger Healion, Shane Dooley.
Subs: Conor Mahon for Verney; Derek Molloy for J Brady; Ger Oakley for Currams; Kevin Brady for Hayden.